We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Travelling with 2 grown up children you want plenty of room and this place has it. The owners are very helpful and can't do enough to ensure your stay is enjoyable. We had the very end suite Room 12 and stayed only one night ( 9th July 2012 ). The suite was comfortable, roomy and very clean. The only down fall is that we couldn't stay longer. You can walk to town, restaurants and tourists kiosks if you wish. Comfortable beds and warm and cosy. Certainly recommend it. However no Free Wifi but you can get it downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    181
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
116
267
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is FANTASTIC!!!! I wasn’t expecting much because we were travelling on a budget and the room wasn’t expensive, but wow was I surprised. The rooms appeared to have been recently renovated, they even had a kitchen with a microwave and little stove top. The room was large and spotless. It is in a good location and right across the road from the hot pools!!! If you’re looking for a place to stay in Franz joseph or fox this is the place to stay, fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantel-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Best value for money in Franz Josef! Across the road from the hot pools and close to the city centre, this motel has cooking facilities in room; it is modern and has a great location. Free DVD rentals from the front desk. Vouchers and discount for town restaurants and activities upon arrival. Close to glaciers. This is the only place to stay in Franz!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourn-travel-bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night whilst driving round the south island. We rocked up with no booking and got a double room. It is right opposite the thermal springs and only a few minutes to the restaurants. The friendly owner gave us a warm welcome and a helpful map with all the walks and restaurants on it. She also gave us a free wifi voucher. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. There was a nice tv and tea/coffee facilities. It warmed up nicely with the heater on. The bathroom was modern and spotless. Recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandeem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at 58 On-Cron for 3 nights whilst visiting Franz Josef and thought it was fantastic. It was ideally situated on a minutes walk from some good places to eat and drink and was literally across the road from the Glacier Hot Pools which are well worth the visit.
We stayed in a room with 1 Double, 2 Twins and a fold out bed and there was plenty of room for all 5 of us. The bathroom facilities were great, with a nice powerful showers and a heat lamp which was handy for drying clothes. The Double room and living room both had TV's with a few sky channels and a couple of others. The whole place in general just look nice and i cant really have any complaints about it at all.
The owner was also very helpful when we were departing and pointed out several places for us to stop on our journey down to Wanaka which all turned out to be worth the stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I returned to the Franz Josef region for our anniversary trip and again stayed at 58 on Cron. We cannot say enough about this accommodation - it is extremely reasonably priced ($110NZD) and such a comfortable, modern room. The Manager is always so helpful with local happenings - restaurants, deals, etc. - so welcoming & friendly. We simply look no further than this motel because of the excellent value, great night's sleep & welcoming staff. We cannot recommend it enough! Thank you again for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This Motel is very nice indeed. Just of the main street on Cron Street we very very surprised. It was competitive in Quality , Pricing , Location and Management communication.Everything was in working order and to high standarts. I highly recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: Any room is of great quality and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing