We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but only one problem”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but only one problem”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place is as good as they all a=say but we spent 2 nights over new year here with another family. The place was lovely and clean and the management was terrific and more than helpful and friendly.


Our complaint is that there are no fly screens on the windows. At night our rooms filled with mosquitos I killed 30 before bed and then had to wipe the blood marks off the wall. When I mentioned it in the morning I was told they don't usually have this sort of problem but it was a bad night in the area. Even so it is highlighted on the map of NZ that it is in a bad area for mossies. Even if there were no mosquitoes, no screen still allow bugs to get in. As there is no need for air con in the area, but as the nights do get warm at this time of year (29oC) you do need to open the windows to get some air.

If screens on the windows don't worry you then this is a terrific stop on a trip around the south island.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anne-n-richard, Owner at 58 On Cron Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your time in Franz Josef.Yes we agree it was a bad night for mossies when you stayed with us and as I mentioned we hadn't had them that bad since we have been here over 3years.
We wish to advise we have taken into account your comments and have ordered and hopefully will be fitted in the next couple of weeks screens for some of the windows in all the units so they can be left open.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind Regards
Anne & Richard Tunnah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    181
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
116
265
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We only stayed at 58 On Cron for one night but really enjoyed our stay. The room was really clean and comfortable, and the DVDs you could borrow were a nice addition. The managers/owners were lovely and provided lots of advice when were had questions. The hotel is a short walk from restaurants and the attractions and right across the road from the mineral spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel right in the heart of Franz Joseph within easy walking distance to restaurants and activities. Also right across the street from the hot pools. Clean and spacious with a nice kitchenette. We had a two bedroom, one bath apartment and it suited us just fine for our short visit. Not much for outdoor space if you wanted to sit outside your room but close enough to bars and restaurants if you wanted to sit out and enjoy the mountain views. The perfect place to stay if you're going to hike Franz Josef Glacier.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

very comfortable, great welcome and great motel services. Large room with very comfortable bed, perfect kitchenette, plenty of space.

Room Tip: all look great, on site parking, and hot pools are opposite. Monsoon Bar next door is great for food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpsandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This was our first time at a motor lodge type accommodation and it was a positive experience. On Cron is in a convenient location, opposite the hot pools and in walking distance from the village. Check in was quick and efficient. Room was modern, very clean, good facilities and a very comfortably bed. We stayed 2 nights and did the full day FJ walk from here – glad we stayed the second night as it’s a big hike!
The only let down here is the request not to cook ‘smelly food’, which includes basics such as garlic and onion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScorpioLondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

An excellent facility near to the town centre and just across the road from the Franz Josef Glacier Hot Pools. I stayed here for 9 nights recently whilst working in the area. The accomodation extremely comfortable and the hosts, Richard and Anne, knowledgeable about the local area. Bar-b-que facility available to use and the motel itself nestled at the foot of the mountains. Very picturesque and peaceful. DVDs available for free loan on the inevitable rainy days. Good value for money.

Room Tip: I had room 14, one of the larger rooms but looking around the place all seem to be equally well furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Right across hotpools, located near towncentre. Service was good, clean towels every day, big room. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_S_on_tour_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Property: 58 On Cron Motel
Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing