We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel in quiet location”
Review of 58 On Cron Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
58 On Cron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We only stayed at 58 On Cron for one night but really enjoyed our stay. The room was really clean and comfortable, and the DVDs you could borrow were a nice addition. The managers/owners were lovely and provided lots of advice when were had questions. The hotel is a short walk from restaurants and the attractions and right across the road from the mineral spa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 498 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel right in the heart of Franz Joseph within easy walking distance to restaurants and activities. Also right across the street from the hot pools. Clean and spacious with a nice kitchenette. We had a two bedroom, one bath apartment and it suited us just fine for our short visit. Not much for outdoor space if you wanted to sit outside your room but close enough to bars and restaurants if you wanted to sit out and enjoy the mountain views. The perfect place to stay if you're going to hike Franz Josef Glacier.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

very comfortable, great welcome and great motel services. Large room with very comfortable bed, perfect kitchenette, plenty of space.

Room Tip: all look great, on site parking, and hot pools are opposite. Monsoon Bar next door is great for food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpsandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This was our first time at a motor lodge type accommodation and it was a positive experience. On Cron is in a convenient location, opposite the hot pools and in walking distance from the village. Check in was quick and efficient. Room was modern, very clean, good facilities and a very comfortably bed. We stayed 2 nights and did the full day FJ walk from here – glad we stayed the second night as it’s a big hike!
The only let down here is the request not to cook ‘smelly food’, which includes basics such as garlic and onion.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScorpioLondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

An excellent facility near to the town centre and just across the road from the Franz Josef Glacier Hot Pools. I stayed here for 9 nights recently whilst working in the area. The accomodation extremely comfortable and the hosts, Richard and Anne, knowledgeable about the local area. Bar-b-que facility available to use and the motel itself nestled at the foot of the mountains. Very picturesque and peaceful. DVDs available for free loan on the inevitable rainy days. Good value for money.

Room Tip: I had room 14, one of the larger rooms but looking around the place all seem to be equally well furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Right across hotpools, located near towncentre. Service was good, clean towels every day, big room. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_S_on_tour_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This motel was great! It was all so modern and in a great location. The room had a dvd player so we were able to borrow movies from the office for free and watch movies in our room. It was really nice, especially for the price you pay, you'd expect to pay a lot more for something like this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 58 On Cron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 58 On Cron Motel

Address: 58 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $78 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 58 On Cron Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 on Cron is set amongst beautiful rain forest but just a 5 minute stroll to the village. We are also conveniently located across from the Glacier Hot Pool complex. The Motel is architecturally designed for the discerning traveller and each unit is fully equipped with everything needed to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our guests enjoy 50+ Channels of Sky TV and Free WI-FI Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your 58 On Cron Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
58 On Cron Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing