We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the rainforst aspect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“loved the rainforst aspect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

stayed in a rainforest one bedroom cabin which was set back into the forest.the aspect was excellent with plenty of glass walls to view the birds of the forest.the room was clean with enough space for two.being self contained we cooked our own meal and their were ample implements.one of our nicer stays in NZ and we were sorry we had not booked longer...however do not expect great service from reception, it was almost non existent.anything you need to ask check out the Information center as they were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    492
    218
    105
    53
See reviews for
238
665
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed in one of their motel rooms. Expected something a little special however a very standard room with little view and poor sound insulation. The patio doors overlooked the backpacker units, nothing else. The small kitchen window did mean that while washing up we had the pleasure of some greenery, in addition to a small car park and electrical transformer. Cost $150 for one night - which is the most we paid in New Zealand for one of the poorest rooms. Victim of supply and demand I suspect - limited places to stay and lots of tourists = expensive.

If you're booking into a 'Retreat' class unit you may have a very different experience. However if you're looking for a motel room at a reasonable rate don't be tempted to spend a little extra for this - there're other motels with far better views.

  • Liked — Its claims (before seeing it)
  • Disliked — Abysmal view from patio door.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploreMindfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Was staying at the Tree House. The unit was very cosy and private, being a log-cabin. It was surrounded by trees and nature all around. We really enjoyed the greenery.

Unit had three bedrooms, cooking facilities, washing machine and dryer. Dryer was a bit noise but other than that no issues noted. Pls bring own washing powder (common practice in NZ, chargeable if obtained from the counter)


Was wary about interaction with front-desk staff after reading prior reviews, but had no problems at all throughout our stay. Staff were relatively friendly. They were open in advising when asked about different activities around Franz Josef.

Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Great location. Lovely view of nature
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank weilii14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

I hate giving "middle of the road" reviews to places, but in this case I think it fits well. The place is OK, a beautiful spot in the rainforest with breathtaking views of the mountains behind. I also thought, despite some of the other reviews, that the staff were quite helpful and friendly - if a little "relaxed", shall we say. Our tree house (not in the trees, as such, but made from them) was quirky, clean and warm. Lots of room and a parking space for the car too.
The problem we had was the other guests, which we should perhaps have foreseen from the website - RR has dorms, and dorms mean posh British backpackers, carelessly lashing daddy's cash up the walls of the world's bars with the greatest of ease on a nightly basis. If this is your bag, then get yerself here. Who knows, you might even get lucky in the sauna/aircraft loo as noted in another review. If it's not your bag, then stay here and go into town to eat and drink. You could do a lot worse and, after all, you'll probably end up stuck with them for the day on the glacier anyway.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Idiotic rich British backpackers
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yaRmoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

We turned up to the village and there seems to be lots of accommodation but it was getting quite busy. There are a few different types of accommodation here but they only had the 'motel' available. The staff were very open to letting us see the room first, it was clean with a kitchenette (milk, tea and coffee provided) and a shower in the bathroom. There is a great bar on site 'Monsoon' and they serve really good food and beers. This is great having the bar on site especially when it is raining hard (which can be quite often!). The price was good and the parking is v good. They will also book activities for you. A great village with some good bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

The tree lodge is the luxury style accommodation.
Luxury might be a slightly loose term, however the lodge was comfortable, spacious, quite with a leafy / mountain outlook.
Nice touches were filtered coffee and heated towel rails.
There is a welcoming restaurant with an open fire in the complex with good / hearty food.
The unit was self contained with a handy microwave and hotplate.
There is wireless internet, however only available near reception and not in your room. TV on the small side, however plenty of channels for late nights.
Comparing value with other accommodation / features would stay again.
P.S. The glacier experience is well worth it. We nearly decided to bypass based on pictures.

  • Liked — Location, Surroundings
  • Disliked — Small TV, No internet in room.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2008

I suppose if you stay in a dorm setting at this place, you might have a less than wonderful experience. However, my fiance and I stayed in one of the tree lodges and we LOVED it. It really is nestled in the rainforest, with a cute little deck that you can have breakfast on. Great ensuite and comfortable bed, too. We had no problem at all with reception, they were nice as could be. Maybe they have gotten their act together after reading these reviews!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tokyochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing