We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,612)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveler rating
629
560
247
117
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
560
247
117
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree lodgemonsoon restaurantall you can eatthe kitchenpizza nightkiwi experienceprivate sparestaurant barlog cabinhot tubback packerscamper vanpowered siteon site restaurantbed dormnew zealandin town
Filter
Updating list...
889 - 894 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked the rainforest expecting some sort of backpackers hostel but we were pleasantly surprised by the level of the double room considering its price.. It was nice and cosy with tea/coffee facilities would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank FromDublinToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location of the room that we got was awesome, right in the midst of the rain forest. It was great from that perspective, however the resort has some severe drawbacks.

1. The rooms had extremely poor insulation and one would almost freeze inside till the heater generated reasonable heat.
2. For all three bathrooms there was one tiny toilet, which seemed complete lack of imagination while planning.
3. The rooms are very far from the entrance and there is no road to properly roll your luggage and one had to almost see ones luggage being destroyed while being dragged through pebbled pathway.
4. The people managing the show seemed like amateurs. They commit things casually without any intention of fulfilling them. For instance on the day of departure they committed to have a van carry the luggage upto the gate and have the intercity bus come and pick it up from there. However, on the morning of departure there was neither a van nor intercity bus.
5. Just as we were leaving they asked for payment which they had already collected while checking in.

It’s a place meant for bag packers which others should avoid.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back amidst the rain forest
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suvabrata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Sir
Many thanks for your feedback. We love feedback as it helps us improve our service.
I would like to take this opportunity to respond to the points raised.
I am very pleased that you loved the location of the 3 bedroom family house that you stayed in.
1, the house is insulated, you stayed late May during a cold snap, it was cold until you the heaters warmed the house up.
2, one toilet for 3 bedrooms is correct in this house as advertised, as is the two showers. I am aware that in Indian cultures more toilets would be better and we do have other houses with multiple bathrooms, but this is the house your travel agent had booked for you.
3, the room is down a driveway in a remote and peaceful area surrounded by bush and gardens. The lady on reception drove your bags to your room from reception so your bag did not get damaged.
4, Sometimes you also need to help yourself, you were told to come to reception when you were ready to leave and we would come and collect your bags, which we did. Your bags were then taken to the road to meet the bus, which came when the bus comes not when you get round to being there.
5, Yes, you are right, the lady on reception double checked your payment on departure as we had notes on your booking that your travel agent was no longer working for you and that we must collect payment. She was double checking that this was done and i'm sorry as she could have found this out without asking you. It is very unfortunate to me that our staff fulfilled your many request whilst here and yet your review is both inaccurate and unfair.

The Rainforest Retreat is for anyone who would like to come and visit a beautiful part of New Zealand with accommodation options for all budgets, we are not a 5 star hotel.

I hope you had a safe trip home to Mumbai

Regards

Oscar Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were here for two nights, and even though our trip to the glacier was cancelled at the very last minute (we were all kitted out and on the coach) we had a great time.

We were in a Jucy van so just needed the washing, laundry and cooking facilities which were all clean, and good. Communal eating area encouraged chatting which we like.

We then went into the on site bar where we "fell in with good company", which enhanced our experience.

We used the hot tub which was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuetheDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi Sue
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our holiday park and Monsoon bar. Have a great trip home to England
Regards
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our stay at the Rainforest Retreat was superb. Not only were the staff friendly and welcoming but our tree house accommodation was very comfortable and stylish. The whole complex caters for a wide range of travelers and covers a large area but we felt like we were the only ones staying there. Nestled amongst the beautiful rainforest of Franz Josef I would highly reccommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi Trev
Many thanks for your wonderful review. I'm so pleased that you loved our Tree Houses. I hope you can make it back to us again soon.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed in the camping side of this holiday accommodation for one night. Pluses: Walking distance to shops, restaurants, everything in the little town. Not terribly expensive. Downsides: very crowded, not that quiet, not really walking distance to the glacier. It's an all right place to spend the night if you have other things you want to do in the town and area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews