We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you WANT sleep”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

DONT BE FOOLED BY THE GORGEOUS PHOTOS

Two couples and another of our friends booked in here and got separate motel rooms- not backpackers- they look gorgeous but the beds were rock solid- which might do it for some people but none of us had comfortable sleeps.

Not that we got much sleep due to the lack of sound proofing -
the bar right out front had music blaring until 3am!

We had asked about the bar when we booked in - if it would be noisy- The reply was "its only a restaurant so no. an obvious lie

then at 7am a service man came around banging on our door- he wanted us out so he could clean the room- and no, they don't give you a do not disturb to put on the door.

We would've had a better night sleeping in a car!

Would NEVER go back

Room Tip: All the motel rooms top floor and bottom have no sound proofing at all- the bottom level gets to her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greerybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Greerybear
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I notice that you stayed 5 months ago. I am pleased to stay that since your stay we have completed a large amount of soundproofing between the floors of our building so noise from above should no longer be an issue. I think there are a few discrepancies in your review. Our staff would never wake you at 7am, the housekeepers don't start work until 9am. you would also never been told that its just a restaurant as we are very proud of our bar and would have told you about it on check in.
Regards
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Would recommend this place to anyone and everyone, the Tree House "" was very comfortable, extremely private and serene with the forest surrounding us. Don't stay without dining in the Monsoon Bar - food was fantastic and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Karen

Many thanks for such a great review.

Regards


Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

There were a group of us accompanying a couple on their honeymoon, which amounted to a fortnight's trip round the South Island in camper vans, so we stayed at several sites along the way and the Rainforest Retreat proved a most popular choice. The setting was lovely and the facilities, which included a restaurant, were tip top.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Barrie
Thank you for such a great review. I hope you can make it back to us one day.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

As a backpacker, this place was fab. Rooms were good, facilities were clean and modern and the bar/restaurant area was great! The staff were really helpful and looked after us well. There is also a hot pool area for a post-glacier climb dip! Would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Charlotte
Wow 6 Stars! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Well designed campsite, retaining bits of rain forest even within the site. It was busy, but in our motorhome site e weren't disturbed by other groups coming to the fixed accommodation. The staff was helpful, and wi-fi worked fine. The only down-side was that the toilet block was temporary and not very good standard, though a notice stated that this is to be improved.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJennyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Peter
Thanks for the great review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of the trip.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This campsite was absolutely gorgeous, in a rainforest setting with great facilities and a lovely outdoor (indoor if you pay) hot jacuzzi bath. It was raining when we arrived, but we still loved the place, and the restaurant on the premises had a cozy bar area with a big open fireplace. The staff was also very helpful, and it was close to everything we wanted to do and see in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi Chloro
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your great review.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights to visit glaciers and surrounding area. This was a very well looked after site. We had a standard double room which was very clean and comfortable with a decent bed and bathroom, although rather small it was adequate. Wi-fi available but very slow The reception staff were very good and worked really hard. The on sight restaurant and bar was packed at night with mainly young back packers and coach tours making anyone over 25 feeling extremely old! Although there was no noise around the rooms and sleep quality was good.

Room Tip: Away from bar and restaurant would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsmum654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $28 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing