We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Retreat”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainforest Retreat”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at a Private Ensuite room, located way at a corner. Clean, spacious room with facilities working well. However, at the time of visit, it was constantly raining in Franz Josef, hence the room is often cold, despite the heater is always turned on. It seemed that the heater is insufficient to warm up the room in cold weather. Toilet had a musky smell in the night-time.
Common kitchen was well-equipped and clean.

Staff was exceptionally friendly and attended to our needs, giving suggestions for other activities due to the bad weather and road closures.
Try the Monsoon restaurant, it is a fabulous place with great food and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    500
    220
    105
    53
See reviews for
242
677
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I were booked to stay for 2 nights for our honeymoon but ended up having to stay an extra night because of heavy rains. No complaints from us there at all.
The first 2 nights we were at the tree hut cabin which was absolutely amazing. It is super comfortable and comes fully equipped and even has a little porch to sit out on and enjoy a whisky/wine as you watch the sun set. The room was more than adequately heated, great range of tv channels, secluded so you have complete privacy and even sheltered us from the exceptional rain and lightning that came down upon us.
The last night we stayed at the tree lodge which was more secluded and had its own balcony which looked out into the forest. Room was comfortable, clean, well heated and well stocked too but it lacked the cosiness of the Tree Hut.
Staff were super friendly and helpful with information on activities, road traffic updates etc. Didn't get a chance to check out the spa pool or sauna. But the food at the restaurant, Monsoon, was incredible and affordable. The lamb shank just melted in your mouth.

Room Tip: Tree Huts are stand alones so you get more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms were exactly as advertised on the internet in terms of presentation and the staff were very friendly. Our Tree Hut was on the main driveway which was a little noisy and the rainforest consisted of a few pungas in front of the balcony but it was still a pleasant room to stay in.

Room Tip: I would have gone for any of the room/huts available up the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed three nights here in August 2013 and i cannot rate it highly enough. We arrived on the kiwi experience to stay 2 nights. Six Irish girls and we got a gorgeous room en suite beside the outdoor hot tub.
We had great privacy and we all spoke about how great the room was and hot fab the shower we had. The bar on this premises i can only say mirrored that of an alpine retreat hidden somewhere on the alps! we had huge log fires and candles lit every table, it felt like a special place. We met people on honeymoon who were equally impressed. And thats not to mention the food! Great value for money - We ate there every night!! Could not get enough!!
Due to poor weather we did not get to climb the glacier on our date and the manager went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we got to walk the glacier park that day.. He was a great Welsh man!! We got to resheduale and go to Fox but it would 100% would not be possible if not for his kindess.
You are in for a treat if you go to this place! its a 1 minute walk from the main street of Franz Josef but with such nice accomodation and bar, we noticed most people just wanted to relax in the rainforest retreat! Top marks!

Room Tip: Most rooms have Sky TV but ours didnt although we didnt mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamhus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a motel room for one night. Staff at front desk go out of their way to get you info on what to do and offer some great suggestions. Never used spa or restaurant so can't comment on either of those.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REM1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked ahead of our arrival to the Rainforest Retreat after having a really enjoyable time last year. We love the beautiful rainforest areas that we could park our camper in. It is such a surreal environment to be in being able to look at the snow-capped mountains when leaving the camper. One thing we noticed was that the amenities were not that clean. I'm sure this is just catching the Rainforest Retreat at a bad time but please make sure the showers are cleaned properly! (hair on the floor after the morning clean took place). Having said that, we will be back. Thank you for providing a fantastic environment for us to stay in.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness centre not applicable to this review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglaslynne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent a night in a motel room when visiting the glaciers and were delighted with it. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - booked our glacier trips and gave us advice on onward travels. We did not encounter any of the issues previous reviews have complained about - perhaps because our stay did not coincide with any tour bus but we were able to enjoy all the facilities (such as the spa) without problems. We did not eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that. In terms of noise, we could hear those in the room above us (barely) but other than that we could only hear the birds in the rainforest!

Our only suggestion for improvement is to include graters in the kitchenettes in the motel! We were happy with the motel for the price we paid and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing