We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness a little disappointing”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cleanliness a little disappointing”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and had a lovely time then and so returned again this year (2013). We again stayed at a powered camper van site and were still really happy with the beautiful setting against the rainforest but the cleanliness of the toilets and showers really lets this place down.

I did notice a little uncleanliness last year, but now that we've travelled all over the North & South Island of New Zealand two years in a row and stayed in countless caravan parks, this one would have to be the worst.

The toilets had leaking water on the floors and when the floors were mopped each morning there was hair and bits of rubbish and paper left all over the floors, making it extremely undesirable to use the facilities. The floors stay wet all the time and although I understand it was winter, perhaps some heating or fans or proper ventilation could assist with this - no other sites we stayed at seemed to have this problem.

Both my husband & I resorted to using our shower & toilet in our camper van for two of the three nights we stayed.

I stress again that this is a beautiful location but I would have to seriously consider if I'd return again or not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    500
    220
    105
    53
See reviews for
242
677
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were lucky to get a free upgrade to a room with kitchen facilities. Big room with sofa and LCD too. Clean and tidy room with coffee and tea provided. However, the walls are thin, we could hear neighbors speaking clearly. Footsteps, door screeching sounds, furniture moving sounds from upper level was very annoying. Spa pool was not functioning well, and the management ignored our request to check it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in a Tree Hut during August for one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was as you would expect for a Tree Hut. Designed like a log cabin. Very clean with a comfortable bed and good en-suite bathroom. The only complaint I had was that the bed did not have an electric blanket which I think is a must in winter. The location in the bush is lovely and private, but also close to restaurants, cafe's and the lovely glacier hot pools.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in a Tree Hut room which was a wonderful room hidden away in beautiful rainforest. Room was spotless and very modern. Was excellent value for money and a short walk to the Hot Pools and town centre. On site resultant is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This had to be the most overrated place that i stayed in in a one month trip to nz. Really did not understand what the fuss was all about. A most average place with really nothing special to recomment.

I must clarify that all the other places that i stayed on during a one month long holiday were without exception excellent.

Room Tip: Really this passes off as a forest stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasawh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the depths of winter but didn't want to leave. We and to escape camper vans to required 2 powered sites.

Bathroom facilities where the best we encountered with heated bathroom/shower rooms which where kept immaculate during our stay. The kitchen/eating rooms where well equipped with TVs and sofas and even an outdoor BBQ unit it we wished to use that. The free Hot tub facilities which where also immaculate where a god send.

The whole setting of the place was brilliant, they don't call it a Rainforest for nothing. The bar was brilliant and incredibly lively when I was there and we appreciated the all you can eat pizza offer they had the first night of our visit.

But most importantly was the friendlyness of all the staff here who went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. I will definitely be returning to this property in the future and hope to try out one of the rooms next time.

A not to be missed property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stay for 3 nights. Great staff, very helpful with things to do in Franz. Room was just what we needed. Will stay here again next time. Set in a great place. Close to all that you need to do in Franz Joesf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 117247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing