We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived late with no booking and the receptionist( I think she was German) was very helpful. She let us check out two rooms and decide which we preferred and also gave us a voucher for a free glass of wine in their restaurant (I had spotted a great pizza deal which sadly wasn't available that night). She gave us a detailed explanation of where everything was and told us what time she left reception in case we needed more information - very helpful.
The log cabin was clean, warm and quiet with everything we needed - very impressed. Would certainly recommend the log cabin to anyone.
When we needed a knife in the morning to make breakfast (there is no kitchen in log cabin), the staff were very helpful in finding one and bringing it to us.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    511
    222
    108
    54
See reviews for
250
686
103
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed in one of the stand alone units with 3 rooms for a family of 5 for 2 nights.
Clean and neat, comfortable enough.
This is a property with mixed accommodation (dorm, rooms, lodge), so do make sure you check before you book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonW469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in mid July. After a long drive from queenstown we were glad to see it. Great setting in the middle of the forest in a quaint little town. The suite was modern compact and well equipped, good value for what we paid. Didn't get around to the hot tub unfortunately, good facilities on site like the bar & restaurant, laundry room and kitchen.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful place! We stayed in one of the powered camp sites for just one night on our way to Queenstown. The sites were clean, somewhat secluded and the area overall was very beautiful. The showers, kitchen and other areas were nice and very clean. We looked at a couple other places to stay and ended up back here because we liked how nice the staff was.

Vicki helped us at the front counter and she was absolutely wonderful! She was so nice and made things so much easier for us booking our stay. Definitely wanted to give special recognition to her, she was very helpful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are staying in Franz josef...this is a must. Amazing hot tub, awesome bar...Oscar gives awesome service... great feel, clean and affordable...got an awesome massage there as well with the therapist on site, who was tops. Its a one stop shop for your stay! There is something for everyone here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After hiking in the rain for a couple of days, getting into a hot tub was great! There are 2 hot tubs - one that holds 20 people (so you can share lies about your tramping conquests of the day!) and another smaller one that you can book on a private basis.

Strong water pressure in the showers - again, wonderful after rainy day outings.

Beds are a bit soft. Personally controlled heating was a bonus.

Laundry was expensive plus being on the west side of the island, it took a long time for things to dry.

Easy walking distance to the small town of Franz Joseph.

Depending on the time of year, you could have 20-something Kiwi Experience busload.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights here, and were very happy with the room and facilities. It's close to town, well set up with cooking gear and comfortable. Really warm in the middle of one of the coldest winters for years. There was a good laundry to catch up after a week or so on the road, and the service was welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg_Emerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing