We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainforest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$60
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$72
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveler rating
583
550
247
117
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
550
247
117
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree lodgemonsoon restaurantthe kitchenall you can eatpizza nightkiwi experienceprivate sparestaurant barhot tublog cabincamper vanpowered siteon site restaurantnew zealandbed dormholiday parkgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May and stayed in the motel section. Our room was quite small, especially the bathroom, but it was functional, and to be honest we didn't spend all that much time in the room as we were out walking on the Fox glacier during the day, and in the hot pools in the evening. Franz Josef is very small, so it is easy to get from here to the bus stop or the cafes and bars. There is a hot pool, but it was raining when we were there so we weren't tempted, although others were braver.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had a really good stay here which started with a really nice welcome from the staff at the front desk. Really friendly pet dogs and a cat belonging to the accommodation were really fun to play with. Travelling as a backpacker it was really good to have the option of either the cheaper option rooms or to pay a small amount extra to have a room with a tv, free tea and coffee and en suite. We chose to pay the extra and really enjoyed the stay, the only bit that let the room down is how creaky the beds are (just turning over in bed made a lot of noise let alone climbing up and down from the top bunk). The wifi coverage is really poor which is annoying to learn just after you've paid for a week of it.
Really good location for the Franz Josef glacier heli-hike trip as well as the local Kiwi centre (where we got to see a couple of kiwi chicks) and the really lovely hot pools which are included on the heli hike trip and are gorgeous.
If you go for the backpacker special offers the food is really good value but just ordering from the menu looked over priced. Good sized kitchen which was clean when I saw it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upgrade!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_T_J_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here in a two person share room after a weekend camping trip at Abel Tasman and it was a great place to relax and recover. The room was spacious with a double bed and an extra single and kitchenette and ensuite. There was a bar open super late (very important in a tiny and sleepy village) and it served decent food. All services were available to include laundry and 24 wifi access only cost 4$.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I travelled around NZ, this was one of favourite places that we stayed and we would have liked to have stayed for longer! Our cabin was lovely and clean and set away from the backpacker area and it was great that you could park the car right outside the cabin. The hotel was in a great location and close to all the main tourist attractions. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What an amazing place, Shelley the duty manager is a assett to your company, I own a bar in brisbane Qld and would snap her up in a heartbeat (And did offer her) , Sadly she declined. Shelley was very efficent and was also very happy and knew her job back to front, As a guest and a first time visitor to franz Joseph I will be highly recomending this retreat as a must see/do, I will never forget the service and fun we had. Shelley and the rest of the staff have set a new standard for my staffing at my bar in qld, Keep up the amazing work Shelley and we hope to see you when we return in september - A huge thumbs up to the rain forest retreat and all its staff - If I could sum this place up in one sentence it would be as follows - Great staff, Great food, Great accomodation and great fun - I hope Shelley gets a huge pat on the back :)

Room Tip: Its all beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripman1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is very excititng to receive such positive feedback. We are very proud of Shelly and all of our staff. We will pass your praise on to her and might even shout her a drink at the bar!
Looking forward to your return in September.
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews