We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty & In Need of Refurbishment”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked the Tree Lodge for 3 of us during our visit in March 2013. Upon arrival we were given the key to our room however when we went to the room we discovered that it was only a double room and did not have an extra bed for our child as we had booked, so back to reception. This time we were served by a different young woman who was very surly in her attitude with us and we were made to feel that it was our fault that we had been given the wrong room.

We were then directed to the correct room. Unfortunately the room was well worn to say the least with lose fittings and the counter and table tops were all sticky. The bed was saggy and offered no support. The carpet was dirty - we felt dirty just being in the room but after a long drive we needed to rest.

The next morning I awoke to my wife in tears saying she wanted to go home all as a result of the condition of this room - we had stayed the previous night in a beautiful place in Hokitika which was exactly the opposite of the Rainforest Retreat.

In summary, we booked the Rainforest Retreat expecting luxury accommodation in a beautiful rainforest and the concept was great but the staff and lack of maintenance and cleanliness make this a MUST MISS location to stay.

The onsite restaurant was however was something else - the food was Outstanding. So our advise is to stay elsewhere but definitely plan to have a meal at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere Else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Ian
I am very saddened to read your review. I am at a loss to explain why you encountered the issues you did when you stayed in March but can rest assured I will do my up most to ensure similar experiences don't occur again. I am sorry that you didn't have the same positive experience that we pride ourselves on giving to our guests.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed our Monsoon restaurant so much and hope the rest of your travels were a success
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place is right at the edge of the magical rainforest, really impressive view ... The staff was really really nice, we had a couple of issues with other customers and the staff helped us and even gave us complimentary access to the private spa pool, which was much appreciated ...
The room was fine, what we paid for, the only thing maybe being the lack of "air circulation" ... The room got really hot at night and condensation built up on the windows, we had to open everything so our clothes could dry, and we didn't really want to do that in winter ... But I'm being picky, we had an excellent time and we would definitely come back.
The restaurant has really good food too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellatrix6618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Bella
Thank you for writing your review and for choosing to stay at the Rainforest Retreat. I'm glad that you enjoyed the food in our Monsoon restaurant and that our staff impressed you.
Thank you also for your comments, there' is nothing wrong with being picky, we appreciate any constructive feedback.
I hope the rest of your travels were fun filled.
Cheers
Oscar Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Somehow we managed to get a free upgrade from the main hotel (or possibly the backpackers dorm) to a lodge. The lodge was fantastic; a bit like staying at Centre Parks but in a rainforest, with a well equipped room, TV, kitchen shower and bed. The bar/ restaurant seemed fine and all the staff were helpful and friendly. If you want to go in the Spa its best to pay and go for the private Spa rather than the free one. Its also within walking distance of the town and a short drive to the glacier.

Room Tip: It's probably best to go for one of the lodges and unless your under 30 avoid the main dorm whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Rob,
Great review, thank you.
Hopefully see you again one day,
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great place very comfortable room in tree lodge was a nice place to stay but some things could be improved staff quite rude when we ordered our meal when we got there forgot us and had to ask again for our meals she never wrote it down and the free drinks I had to pay for a black beer gimmick" bar girls need clothes to wear and paper to wright on for orders ,overall monsoon bar staff let the place down ! Spa that was free and private was not private nor did the jets work ! no changing area
And our cloths got wet in the rain sadly staff staff don't seem to show interest or advice

Room Tip: Tree lodge nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Gavin
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay here. I am very pleased to hear your Tree lodge was nice but am disappointed to hear you experienced some service issues. We generally receive very positive feedback about our staff and am very sorry that you hadn't experienced the great service they are known for. I did email you personally after you left your completed accommodation survey, to try and get some more info on the issues you had encountered and would still appreciate it if you'd like to get in touch.
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Well, can't say I wasn't warned. (I'd read previous reviews) We changed our booking from a room in the backpackers dorm to just across the way in a motel unit (thank god otherwise it would've been much much worse). Lovely décor, plenty of towels, wine glasses, decent tv, nice grounds but man was it noisey at night .. until someone shouted at the little dears to be quiet (at 3am).
Close to town and reasonably priced. Check in staff helpful prior to arrival when making enquiries and when checking in ... but unless you're a sound sleeper, those tour buses really ruin the experience.

Room Tip: try another motel if you like your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Happy travels
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The owners were fantastic to change our booking for us. Reception girl and bar girl need to smile more. Very relaxing place to stay, restaurant was fantastic and when it rained we certainly let them pour :) definitely coming again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale Thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hi Dale
LOVE your review! Girls are smiling now.
Hopefully see you again soon,
Cheers
Oscar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a Tree Lodge. The studio was pleasant, well furnished, well equipped and nice and clean. The claimed 'private setting' was what I would say is a bit of a gimmick. Yes the lodge was in the native bush but so were two other lodges directly opposite. Sadly the noise from the studio directly connected in the other half of the lodge further spoiled the 'private setting'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, General Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Andy
Thank you for your feedback. I'm very pleased that we got everything right with your room. Our tree lodges are secluded in natural bush away from the rest of our accommodation and facilities, I am sorry if it wasn't as you expected.
I hope all else was good.
Kind regards
Oscar Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $29 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing