We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but kitchen equipment is old”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good place but kitchen equipment is old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this place. The rooms and facilities are clean and the night was good.
The kitchen is very big but the equipment is quite old and could be replaced.
The pool is also very big, but only 2 of the 4 jets were working.

Very good was the bar on the premises (Monsum) we enjoyed the Pizza Fest (15$ all you can eat + one drink).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    492
    218
    105
    53
See reviews for
238
665
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Rainforest Retreat is perfectly located across the road from the hot pools and close to town. The campsites are nestled amongst none other than a "Rainforest Retreat" the sites are so private and beautiful you wouldn't know you we're in a campsite! Facilities were clean and well looked after. The campsite also offers a Bar and Restaurant so you can enjoy the Jam Jar Cocktails and walk the few metres back to the Campervan. All staff encountered were delightful especially the very accommodating Oscar who greeted my friends and I. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Review is based on powered site for campervans
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed Rainforest Retreat for a day. The room was nice and clean, got every thing we needed. They have booked a helicopter tour from them with discount. It was special experience to see the Glaciers. We loved the Kayak on the lake after the helicopter tour. instructor B is a lovely lady, she gave my husband and I a private tour on the lake, it was unforgettable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiecaowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The good: conveniently located, cheap, friendly staff, comfortable bed.

The bad: room was very small (we went for the cheapest option, so perhaps we just got what we paid for), there was some noticeable wear (but I wouldn't say it's falling apart) and the WiFi -- which costs extra -- is almost useless (I suspect due to being overloaded from the many users). Also, the Kiwi Bus likes to stop here. For those unfamiliar, the Kiwi bus is a bus that travels around New Zealand that is a favorite of the college/20-something crowd. So you can expect a lot of socializing to be going on around you. I wouldn't say that the Kiwi bus crowd were rude or obnoxious, but the scene might not be everyone's cup of tea.

Basically, if you just want a relatively cheap place to spend the night after seeing the glacier and then hitting the road, this place is fine. If you're looking for something more, probably best to look elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grabowcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The beautiful surrounds of the Rainforest Retreat certainly add to the feeling that you are in the most beautiful location in New Zealand. The West Coast and Franz Joseph especially is paradise.
Our lodge in the retreat was very comfortable, quiet and clean. The staff were very friendly and the location is perfect.Having a private court yard to enjoy a wine and listen to the native bell birds and fantails was great. This is the best place you can stay if you want something special at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a lovely setting. We had a lovely stay here for one night and really enjoyed staying in the 2 bedroom tree house unit. Private, comfortable, roomy, great sized kitchen, the beds and linen were comfy. Have no complaints on the house. We paid for some WIFI but it kept dropping out so wasn't any use. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMC_Wellington_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

we booked one night at the place, we paid for four people (three adults and one child) and got cramped into a small studio with en suite. We should say that it is the most that we paid for four of us for this whole trip around New Zealand. but it is our fault to choose this type of accommodation because it is only designed to suit three people, but we did not want to leave one person behind. The day we arrived at Franz Joseph, it was raining cats and dogs and the room and kitchen were very small. the bathroom is OK. we enjoyed the free outdoor spa. It was very noisy as a Friday night. The bar was open until probably midnight, and there was a family with a baby downstairs. she cried and cried for the whole night. we could not get to sleep due to noise and the 5 year old keeps tossing and turning, finally around 2200, she fell asleep but then the fire alarm went off and my daughter was woken up and then we had to go through the whole process of getting her to sleep. My parntner and I went out for a walk around 2200, and we found this Rainforest Retreat is the noisiest place in the whole town at that time of the night. There were music and people talking loud around while it was very quiet all round the town. so we decided we would not come back again this place. Hell, no.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing