We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker Accommodation”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Backpacker Accommodation”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Positives: Affordable, beautiful location. Good sized dorm rooms with linen provided. Good sized kitchen with good supply pots/utensils. Good laundry facilities. Nice/busy bar/restaurant onsite.

Negative: Very thin walls, every sound can be heard (people walking in the corridors, rooms next door, even the activity in the kitchen!). This is also a stop over location of the Kiwi Experience bus - party people heard late into the night even with notices asking for no late night noise.

Had I known this was KiwiExperience stopover I probably wouldnt have booked to stay here.If it's the party experience with heaps of youngsters 'doing NZ' that you are looking for, then yes I would recommend this place, if it's the quiet place to chill after exploring the wilderness then this isn't where you'll get a good night sleep.

Room Tip: If you are doing the glacier hike, the ice will become softer later in the day as the temp rises - c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdiGirlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear EdGirl
Many thanks for taking the time to review our backpackers and dorm accommodation. I am pleased you found so many positives during your stay. I hope the rest of your travels were fun filled.
Regards
Oscar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    500
    220
    105
    53
See reviews for
242
677
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed in a shared room here and it was pleasant. The room was a little cramped and lacked plug sockets, and I can see the shared facilities not always being to everyones liking but I did not mind. The kitchen is huge, however the communal lounge was cramped and the TV did not work. Luckily the bar on site was comfortable, offered cheap meals and entertainment. The staff were pleasant and friendly, however they could do with extra staff on the front desk. The real shame was when our alcohol went missing from a storage room!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Karl,
Thank you for reviewing our backpacker accommodation and for staying with us in a dorm room. I am sorry you were unable to use the tv in the lounge, I am unsure why it didn't work for you but am pleased to report it is working fine now. We are in the process of making the communal area larger to increase comfort levels for everyone. I am pleased you found the staff so pleasant and friendly.
I hope the rest of your travels were fun filled
Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I has been live on 21.22.23 of Feb.
There are insects in the sheets. It's was very horrible................
and I think bathroom shouldn't become for Mix use. it's not inconvenient and embarrassed to every visitor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Jason
Many thanks for staying with us in a dorm room in the backpackers. I am sorry if you felt there was a problem with your bedding, I wish you had bought any issues to our attention during your stay so we could have looked into it and changed the bedding. We undertake a very thorough pest control program. Any potential issues are treated very seriously and I am happy to say that following an inspection of your room once we received your review we have no issues. Our communal bathrooms in the backpackers are mixed use and we find backpackers have been happy with this but if you want more privacy we do also offer en-suite dorms.
Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in one of their regular, motel-type rooms. It was extremely cramped, with very little space to move around. The bathroom has absolutely no counter space--the sink is a tiny, wall-mounted one without even room to put a toothbrush down. The walls between rooms are not at all soundproof, and the whole property is noisy. I would only recommend this for young backpackers who can sleep through anything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Terri,
Many thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback and for booking one of our en-suite double rooms. I am sorry you found the room to small for you. Please note they are not motel rooms which are much larger. The room you booked was an en-suite double which we do describe with much accuracy, there are also very clear pictures on ours and 3rd party web sites. It is regrettable that some of our other guests disturbed you during your stay. This winter we will be carrying our further soundproofing measures to your room.
I hope the rest of your travels were fun filled
Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The rainforest retreat is a professionally ran campsite with reasonable prices and good facilities. It has fairly private motor home sites with/without power. The campsite is close by to the Main Street with cafes, bars, tours, supermarket and the glacier pools. A highlight was $6 to hire the private hot tub for 30 mins, great value and a treat after our ice climbing trip!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear CJS
Many thanks for such a wonderful review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here in your camper van and hope we will see you back here again one day.
Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This has been the most disappointing stop on my NZ trip- it's a far cry from the peaceful bush setting advertised

CONS:
* Motel ensuite rooms are opposite backpackers who seem to enjoy screaming all hours of day and night
* Noise from pub (music) goes til well after 1am and is easily heard from rooms
* Walls are thinner than paper- can hear people from other rooms snoring, going to toilet and having sex amongst the other noises

PROS:
* location to town/hot pools
* friendly staff

Overall would not recommend- especially for cost!

Room Tip: Avoid motel rooms- they're close to backpackers & pub plus walls are thinner than paper
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieMc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is not your ordinary campervan site. While the sites are relatively close together, they are separated by very lush tropical plants and trees which creates very good privacy for most sites. It is a very close walking distance to the main town (3 min) and equally close to the Glacier Pools, making it easy for us to walk everywhere. The facilities were well maintained and very adequate for the size of camp. Overall, a very good experience and a new (very positive) twist on typical campervan sites. Plus, very cheap internet access ($4/day) and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing