We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined by noise and disturbed night”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in a family motel unit, which was completely fine - clean and good value. However, the all night partying of the Kiwi Experience gang kept us and r two young children awake for most of the night. Complained the next morning, as did the queue of other guests checking out and whilst the woman on reception was sympathetic, it doesn't bring back your bad nights sleep for which you have paid good money. I know these tours are valuable, but the antics of these guests seem to be put ahead of everyone else and for this reason I would not return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank delphinedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for only one night, backpackers very noisy into the wee hours then woken at 5.45 am by a delivery lorry, then the guest above was like an elephant in the wilderness and I could here every move, even his toileting needs. Then a coach arrived to pick up the backpackers who all dragged their cases across the gravel all before 6.30 am. After complaining to the only young girl on reception who could not have been more sorry I complained to their head-office and was refunded the full room fee. When I go back to New Zealand I will not be staying hear again ruined the next day for me because I was so tired.

Room Tip: Rooms very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed 1 night in Tree Hut and really enjoy it. Highly recommened. Even the spa is too open and private spa is closed, faulty as I heard. They have restaurant too but it is closed at 9 pm. I tried restaurants Alice and it is really good too. But Ice Explorer tour, a must do in Franz Josef

Room Tip: Choose Tree Hut, its romantic and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castaway2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We located this park on the internet and it looked great, so booked prior to travel. Whilst speaking to others on our travels around the Sth Island, anyone that had stayed in Franz Josef all recommended this place. It has lovely surrounds and each site is quiet private, surrounded by natural flora. The amenities were clean and close by to our site. We loved the onsite restaurant and bar, especially the open fire and comfy couch to site on and enjoy our evening drinks. It is also just a stones throw away from the Hot Springs, which were also lovely. Would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This little spot in heaven was great! the area was clean, spacious, and a bit rustic, but not too much. The walking trails were a nice treat. the on site restaurant/pub was great, the patio area is fan-damn-tastic!!! the rooms were very nice, the only flaw was the herd of elephants (group above us tramping all around ALL night!) but all in all great stay! will go back again!!!

Room Tip: Get a top floor!!! or an end room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogreibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived in the afternoon right behind a massive tour bus of backpackers so had a lengthy wait in check in. Unfortunately they only had one person on check in with another two standing behind the desk nattering away to one another and not taking any interest in the massive line of people waiting.
The camp itself is very neat and the powered sites are private, and the restaurant and bar is worth a visit. However throughout our stay we discovered that for 50 campsites they had two toilets and two showers for each gender, which is pretty appalling, so there were long lines at times. There were other ablution blocks on site but these were all locked with no reason given - I don't know about the mens bathrooms but the ladies were in desperate need of a clean. Looking at the other positive reviews on here I am guessing that we got them on a bad night.

Room Tip: If you are camping then maybe try another campground - Purely due to the lack of toilets and showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi Felice, Many thanks for taking the time to review the Rainforest Retreat. I am sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We aim to ensure that all of our guests have a great experience and it looks like you experienced a few annoyances that let us down on this occasion. I have taken your comments seriously and will use them to ensure we can carry on improving for our future guest.
I hope the rest of your travels were fun filled.
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is an exceptional quality park with fantastic amenities ,staff and the restraunt and bar first class.It is well suited for couple and equally as good for families I stayed 2 nights 1 in my motorhome and 1 in the tree lodge A great stay and i will be back

Room Tip: the tree lodge well situated and the layout very differant and a great experience and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
732 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $54 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing