We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Rainforest retreat as part of a road trip around the south island and would thoroughly recommend it as one of the newer and better places to stay in Franz Joseph. We stayed in a treetops lodge which was reasonably priced. Rooms were large, modern and well equipped and ecologically friendly as you would expect in such a location. The bar and restaurant had great food, prompt service, friendly staff and is obviously very popular as it was packed the night we were there.
The complex appears to cater for backpackers, campers and groups as well as the more luxurious treetops lodges which are something special.
Franz Joseph is great not only for the glacier but also has plenty of mountain bike trails, walks and other activities so we will be back to stay at Rainforest Retreat again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevef255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    477
    216
    102
    52
See reviews for
231
653
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, West Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Love this place, its got everything. On our way down the West coast we stayed here in my camper van. Very privet spots, with trees all around us. Showers free which always make me smile as I hate timed showers, a cosy TV room and a kitchen for those people who don't want to cook inside their van. We returned here for a couple nights when we came back up the west coast, Normally we do not stay in one place twice, but as the camp site was so fantastic we had to try out a room, and as we expected the standard of the room was awesome, really could not find any fault. Its a little gem. The on site pub is a great place to eat, drink and chat to the guides and other locals. Defo recommend to a friend and anyone else who will listen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Loved staying here! My wife, son and myself stayed in a tree lodge and were very impressed. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly bloke who went out of his way to organize some local activities for us as we didn't really have any idea what Franz had to offer. When we got to the room we found a comfortable 'pad' that was perfect for what we required. Upon visiting reception again one of the female staff members had a few laughs with our 4 year old son which we found quite touching. An awesome location, set in some 'heavy duty' New Zealand rainforest topped it off for us, and we would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave21022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Josef, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

i loved it here the atmosphere was great the staff are really friendly and great to talk to the bar is awesome both for food and to socialize in its also a great way to meet new people also being able to have my dog here is mean and topped of my stay here will definantly come back and would reccomend it to any one any day no problems thanks again

jase and jess [the dog]

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here on our trip to Franz Josef when we climbed the glacier. The campsite is set in the rainforest which gives a nice feeling. The lady at reception was polite when we arrived and checked us in.

The facilities are some what lacking what is required. There are only two showers in both male and female toilets for everyone camping, which meant i had to wait for a shower even in the middle of winter. There is a lack of hot water as both showers i had resulted in cold water at the end of them. The kitchen and tv room are nice and equipped with microwave and fridge.

Sadly this is as good as it gets. The campsite also has budget room accommodation which is rented to people of the KIwi Experience. Sadly these people do not care or look after the facilities that are provided. In fact to say they abuse them would be an understatement.

When going to wash up our plates in the morning we were very disturbed and disgusted to see that someone had excreted into a frying pan and then tried to cook there number 2. The smell was revolting and had been left un-noticed for some time making my girlfriend seriously sick and myself renching.

Although we appreciate that this is not the campsites fault, we feel that maybe they need to have extra staff to manage the customers. They did apologise but that was all that was said. Overall we will most defiantly not be returning here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny and Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Jonny and Amber
What you encountered, understandably has left you with a bad impression which is such a terrible shame as I am sure your review would have been glowing otherwise. I am pleased you liked the feeling in the rain forest, that the staff where polite, that you liked the kitchen and tv room and I'm pleased that you appreciate what you discovered isn't our fault. What you discovered had nothing to do with any of our other guests, It was an extremely unpleasant stunt carried out by teenagers from a nearby town who were en-route to the annual local rugby derby which were not staying in the park. We believe you discovered it very shortly after it was left here. The local cop has been informed and will deal with them as he feels fit. I appreciate how horrible it would have been to you both and am extremely sorry you got to it before us. I am very grateful to our staff who promptly and professionally cleaned up.
Regarding your other comments, it seems your unpleasant experience may have created an understandable but un-realistic reflection. There are many more toilets and showers on site but in an effort to be more resourceful we closed some as we only had 10 vans staying and felt that 4 showers was reasonable between everyone, if you had to wait I apologize as you clearly had unfortunate timing. There is no lack of hot water as the hot water is instantly gas heated.
I am so sorry that the actions of others has altered your opinion of what is regarded by so many as a great holiday park.
Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Originally when I read some of the reviews about this place i wasn't too sure whether I should or should not book it. I decided to take a chance and book it for my family, two adults and a child, because the description sounded really nice. So i booked a "Tree Lodge" which was supposed to be in the private rainforest setting with large outdoor living areas as well as raised into the canopy itself. What we got was very different. To start of as we walked in the "Lodge" it smelled of possibly onions? and it smelled... Then there was no private setting as the windows of the Lodge faced the parking lot for the lodges, then the lodge next door which formed part of the same building had no sound insulation as we heard people next door coughing the whole night, so there goes the privacy. The bathroom was superficially clean, as we found someones contact lens on the floor of the shower. The only saving grace of the place was the pub, it was really great. The setting with the fireplaces and the logs as well as the food was pretty good.
There were a lot of students there brought in by bus loads and there was a lot swearing going on, so if you have kids it's not an ideal setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamg0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainforestFranzJosef, Manager at Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear iamgod
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Rainforest Retreat. I sorry you found an onion smell in your room. We do ask for guests to refrain from cooking food with excessive smells in the rooms. I don't believe that you bought this to our attention, if you had we would have been more than happy to try and fix the problem or move you to another room. I am confused that you feel there was no private setting, as the room has a outdoor balcony in the forest. The large floor to ceiling windows face out to this balcony and rainforest, only a small window with a venetian blind faces out to the parking area for your lodge and is partly obscured by trees? Some lodges are raised into the canopy, some or ground floor, we try and accommodate all request, if you had reqested a raised lodge we would have given you one.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed the bar and found it "really great"
I hope you had a safe journey back to the Gold Coast.
Kind Regards
Oscar Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I over stayed my intended visit by two days u liked it at Rainforest so much. The huge outdoor hot tub was a great bonus! The reception staff were friendly when I interacted with them and the kitchen area was huge. Walking distance to everything in Franz Josef including supermarket tour guides and glacier hot pools. The atmosphere at the restaraunt/bar Monsoon is exceptional! These guys know how to have a good time and keep smiles on faces.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephgeetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing