We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Impressive'”
Review of Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“'Impressive'”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying on Friday night(16th March. When we first arrived I was dubious due to the number of young people around (we are middle aged). However we were very impressed with our whole stay. Our room was well presented,cosy, warm and beautifully clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Monsoon Bar & Restaurant. From the minute we stepped through the door, we felt we were somewhere special. On top of that, the service was FANTASTIC and the meal delicious! We were very pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was during the night. We had expected lots of noise due to the number of people about. We looked forward to going back to the restaurant for Breakfast and were again impressed by the wonderful service,the food itself and the way the breakfast bar was set up. This was our first 'night away' without children in tow, for a very long time. Thank you to all the staff, for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    506
    221
    108
    53
See reviews for
245
682
101
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands, uk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our stay at the retreat was very average. We had booked a tree lodge but it was a normal room really. we have been to other tree houses and they are very rustic but this one wasn't out of the ordinary and could have been anywhere. The service in the bar and restaurant wasn't what we expected. There seemed a lack of staff and they made no apologies for keeping people waiting. Staff on reception were very 'matter of fact' too. All in all, the rainforest retreat was a bit disappointing for a resort that promises so much.

Room Tip: The rooms are ok but paying the extra for the rainforest touch isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_fearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had no idea what a great place this was and felt very sad that we had not been before. The facilities covered all types of travellers and each 'area' catered for their needs. We stayed in a tree hut but as motor homers we were very impressed with how the resort has been designed. Our accommodation was tucked into the bush which was rather special. Had an issue with the service for our room but it was attended to quickly once we let them know. Heat pump was rather noisy so suggest a regular service would take care of that. Walking distance to the township. An enjoyable stay and would do it all again.

Room Tip: If you want a 'bush' experience the tree hut was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry and Larra... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We recently stayed in the motel section of the retreat. The rooms have recently had an upgrade and are very modern and clean. The only negative if you are travelling with a bit of luggage is that they are a bit on the small side. Other than that no problems.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed one night in a tree hut, being a small chalet with private bathroom, balcony and parking space. The receptionist was friendly even though our voucher was somewhat unfamiliar to her. The interior of the room was totally made of tree trunks, as it should be. We had diner in the bar/restaurant of the retreat, which is a mix of both. The quality was good but not extraordinary. Overal a pleasant stay at the retreat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed with 2 couples at one of the "tree houses" (ie cottages) which are separate from the motel and backpacker accommodation. We were very happy with our cottage especially for the reasonable price. It was simple was very adequate for the 2 couple (in fact we had 3 bedrooms / 1 full bathroom + one additional shower room) + kitchen, full laundry, living and dining room. The mattresses on the beds were not the greatest. The service was friendly albeit a bit unprofessional but we did not have any issues. We had dinner one evening at their restaurant which was quite "hip-hop and happening" with excellent value-for-money meals as well as excellent service.

Our only real complaint was that the $10 per day per device internal service was very patchy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxury-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Backpackers Love this place, and if you want to rub elbows with them, and get your laundry done, this is the place, staff seemed to all be that age as well. We enjoyed the private Hot tub after a cold day exploriing in the rain, but we arrived very early and I suspect that if we hadn't we wouldn't have been able to reserve it. Food at the restaraunt was really good, well cooked and served with a smile. Our room was TINY! Comfortable enough, though the bathroom sink was about the size of a dinner plate.. worked out Ok, but not really convenient. Our biggest complaint was that the cleaning staff, though they could see us working through the glass door, still knocked twice before our departure to see when we would be checking out! An hour before checkout at 9:00 and again at 9:45...REALLY made me angry. It's supposed to be MY room til checkout! I would not return for that reason alonel.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the Pub as you can, the kids party til very late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momospond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat

Property: Rainforest Retreat
Address: 46 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainforest Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep In the heart of West Coast Glacier country, Rainforest Retreat is a rare find, with a range of accommodation set amongst lush native bush in Franz Josef township. Enjoy privacy and sanctuary in secluded cottages and tree huts, relax in the spas and sauna, dine out and have fun at the bar/restaurant, or just relish the bush setting and cook up barbecues with new friends. From luxury tree huts to backpackers rooms, Rainforest Retreat has accommodation to suit every style of traveller; from couples to family groups to young individuals on a budget. Rainforest Retreat provides excellent value and a special atmosphere; with a focus on superb service, cleanliness and a range of great facilities to satisfy all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing