We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay on my New Zealand trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This motel is brand new, and the owner put tremendous care into each decision. The beds are wonderfully comfortable, the sheets, towels and furnishings are top notch. The small details in soaps, snacks and coffee hit it out of the park. This is a must. And fantastic food right next door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAnnieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Hi and thank you for your lovely comments . This is the forth and newest in our chain of motels so we think we have thought of most things to please our quests.
And to have a nice restaurant and bar right next door is great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very helpful owners, sparkling clean and new rooms with all desired amenities. Owners were even willing to hold a room for us later than checkout time to allow a shower after hiking the glacier. They also recommended a terrific restaurant up the road, Alice Mae's.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Cheers tanager1 for your review.

Good to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. All the best and safe travels back to the US.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My self and my partner stayed here overnight,the experience was welcoming and friendly, very clean new self contained units,also good price too. The best sleep we had on our holidays. We will be back for sure.
Thanks again Pete and Sue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lailey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Cheers Lailey72 for your really positive review.

Brilliant to hear you had your best sleep whilst staying with us! All the best and please do stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

These are nice new Motels in a a very quiet location only a walk across the road to the Hot Mineral Pools. The hosts are friendly and helpful and the king bed was very comfortable. There is a great place to eat just a minutes walk down the road.

Room Tip: don't go past
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Hello Mahianz, thanks for your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spend a night at this lovely motel. Everything is brand new and sparkling clean. The interior of our two rooms unit were nicely decorated. There's is a spa pool in every unit. Bit of walk to the centre of the town (we drove anyway). For the 1 bedroom unit, there were two queen beds which can accommodate 4 people comfortably.Wifi is available. Plenty of parking outside the units. Lovely host who help us to make lots of calls to enquire on the glacier hiking tours, finally we settled for a scenic flight. Also Thanks a lot for informing us that our items were left out in the unit. Really a great host and a pleasant stay at Aspen court! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Hi and thank you for your comments. The centre of town is a leisurely ten minute stroll and a nice way to see our village. All of our beds here at Aspen Court are King size beds ,heaps of room to stretch out. Were glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Franz Josef despite some wild weather. There were no helicopter flights but we braved it and walked everywhere in wet weather gear. It was lovelt to come back to a beautiful apartment with lovely comfortable beds and a giant spa bath as well. The garden through the feature window was beautiful. Staff were helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend the facility for a comfortable comnvenient stay

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a two bed room apartment with spa bath. Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Manager at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi Kathryn F Yes sorry about the weather, but good to hear that you enjoyed the spa bath on your return from your walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

With an unplanned trip to Franz Joseph at the last minute, Aspen Court was more than accommodating. The rooms are immaculate, the colors are great and the service and furnishings in the room are outstanding. Excellent, welcoming hosts who made our stay very special. Great walking distance to town and a fantastic restaurant next door. Soundproof rooms and decent sized spa baths. Will visit again on our next trip! Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaWiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Aspen Court Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2015

Thanks SaWiLi for your review.

Great review and thank you for taking the time to write it! We do appreciate such comments and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Franz Josef

Address: 76 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $121 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Franz Josef 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New contemporary motel complex situated within the centre of Franz Josef Village. Affordable spacious, warm and modern accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Village. Qualmark rated four star plus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Court Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing