We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey look - a kitchen!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Hey look - a kitchen!”
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Stayed here for one night during a drive up the West coast. It was actually fairly expensive for a basic hotel with tight parking in a remote part of New Zealand.

But it had a kitchen in it, and rather than go out for dinner, we stopped at the local grocery store and picked up food to cook in the microwave, the savings more than offset the cost difference.

Room was clean, bathroom was fine except for a burnt out light (the heat lamps worked).

Hosts seemed like really nice guys. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Attitude of hosts
  • Disliked — Price for the night was a little steep
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    219
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
111
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Unlike other reviewers we thought this motel was expensive for what we got. The room was large but had a cold unwelcoming feeling. Dont pay extra for the outside deck rooms they are on street level and are tiny with only enough room for small table and chairs. Friendly welcome at reception.

  • Liked — Good location near town
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayloverAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We arrived to FJ on a rainy day, and stayed at Alpine Glacier for two nights. Decent size room for four (two adults and two teens) and good size bathroom too. This is a wee town, so whereever you stayed would be close. We ate at Alice May restaurant nearby, which is also quite good.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

Booked the Deck Studio room so we had a nice view of Franz Josef mountain. Room was beautiful and really had a nice and relaxing stay.

Location was also close by to all restaurants. Definitely the place to stay when staying in Franz Josef.

  • Liked — location, view, room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lshirai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This property is an ideal place to stay for a night or two if you're headed down the west of the South Island. It's clean and comfortable and has everything from a free DVD library to a French press in the kitchen. The check-in staff were extremely helpful and keen to provide advice on where to eat and what to do. The location is right in the center of town, so everything is within walking distance. We paid NZ$120 a night through Wotif.com, which we thought was great value for the money given the size and quality of the room.

  • Liked — Great value and well-equipped (DVD library is excellent)
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesBeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed here one night and I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was very clean and large with a fully equipped kitchen. They even included a french press and loose coffee--a big plus for me as I am a coffee drink and don't like the usual instant coffee provided.

The innkeepers are very friendly and are relaxed about check-out. They also have a good DVD selection. The value for this hotel is unbeatable so if you're stopping by Franz Josef book this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The room we stayed in had everything we needed although it was a little cramped for the four of us. It was the cheapest place we stayed at during our NZ holiday and accordingly, it was good value. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating.

  • Liked — The Price.
  • Disliked — Room was a little cramped.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4cdnglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing