We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed here for two nights while doing a driving tour of the south island and wouldn't hesitate to go back. The accommodation itself was basic being a motel, but it was neat, tidy and comfortable, and had the comfiest bed of anywhere we stayed in our two week trip. The main reason we wouldn't hesitate to return here was the service. The manager (I wish I could remember his name) was the loveliest bloke and nothing was too much trouble. It absolutely poured on our full day in Franz Josef, and having had our glacier walk cancelled due to dangerous weather we found ourselves with little else to do but watch some DVD's (free to borrow, which was a lovely touch). When we got to the office to pick some and explained our day's plans had been scrapped we were swiftly offered a movie projectioner the manager had recently purchased, and in no time had our own private movie theatre set up in our room. The room contained a DVD player itself anyway - and I'm not even sure the projectioner had been purchased for motel use specifically - but watching our DVd's on our big-screen was so much fun and ended up being one of the most rlaxing days on our trip! The service alone would have us return here - it being a lovely, cosy place to spend a few nights was a bonus!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scotwal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    221
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
113
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Standard motel-style accomodation, fairly basic & nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangorBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

After seeing the write-ups on TA I expected this to be good, clean accomodation but not really that good. Parking spaces tiny, room tired and really needed a clean. Walked back and forth a couple of times in the kitchen and bathroom in bare feet and they were black - where is the mop. Not nearly as nice as Glenfern where we stayed before. Give this one a miss, not good value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and poor value
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We were on a driving tour of New Zealand and stayed in a variety of different hotels/motels. This one was certainly one of the better ones for price, location, cleanliness and friendly service.

The room was very quiet, had been recently refurbished and everything was in a brand new condition. We had an unobstructed view of the mountain and were able to watch the sun set on the snow covered peak from our doorway.

Our main purpose of staying overnight was to take a heli hike up the glacier, so we wanted to be as central as possible and not have to bother driving in the morning. Franz Josef is not large (about 2 or 3 main streets) and the Alpine is located a stones throw from the 'action' (if you can call it that!)

Billy, at the front desk, recommended excellent places to eat. He also has a good collection of DVDs which you can borrow free-of-charge to watch in your room, when the excitement of Franz Josef is too much for you!

He very kindly gave me the DVD which I borrowed as he said no one had ever asked to borrow it before and I should take it home with me (which I did!)

He also allowed us to leave our hire car (packed full with luggage) in their car park all day after we had checked out, so we could take the heli hike.

When there are so many properties all offering very similar rooms/prices etc, personal service makes all the difference and we would certainly stay there again next time we are in Franz Josef.

  • Liked — Location, personal service
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Franz Josef. The accommodation was motel based and had all the facilities expected . We booked this through a local i site agency and got a terrific deal due to being out of the busy tourist season. We paid only $80 a night instead of the usual $130! This motel is very central to all the attractions and the local eateries/bars.
The room was very spacious and well equipped and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Ammenities great
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jojoka1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed here only one night for which it was adequate but not for longer. Staff friendly, room clean, big bed that was comfortable but dismal lighting, skimpy curtains, sofa looking its age, melamine-topped table with plastic seat chairs with metal legs. Kitchen adequately equipped, bathroom a good size, shower curtain round a drain in the corner. Owner (was he?) friendly and helpful, recommended somewhere to eat (not that Franz Josef has much to offer).

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Furnishings are tired and dated. Lighting is dismal
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Zelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed at the Alpine Glacier Motel one night while travelling through, The service was excellent. Staff were very helpful and as others have mentioned were quite happy to loan a torch for the glow worm walk and let us leave our car there for the day even tough we had checked out.

The rooms were simple but of good size. The heated towel rack has me hooked! The location is central to everything as it is on the main block of town (on a side street). While nothing fancy it suited our needs.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Quite basic accomodation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_leecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing