We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stopover in Franz Josef” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Stopover in Franz Josef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed 1 night at the Alpine Glacier Motel in mid-March 2013. When I originally booked our New Zealand trip this particular stopover came with no great expectations – it was really just somewhere to rest while we made the long drive from Abel Tasman down to Queenstown. However, both in terms of accommodation and activities this short stopover turned out to be surprisingly good.
The Alpine Glacier looks much like any other motel from the outside, but I though the rooms (we stayed in Room 8) was nicely appointed with a large screen flat panel tv, a small kitchenette, and a small but welcome side patio with a partial view of the mountains. The bed was also surprisingly plush and put some high-end hotel chains’ bed to shame. The location, one block off the main highway going through town, was ideal. Those wondering where to get dinner in Franz Josef might want to try the Full of Beans (coffee shop by day, bistro by night). We had a nice dinner with wine in a pleasant atmosphere.
In terms of activities the obvious ones are the glaciers at Franz Josef and Fox. We managed to do both pretty easily and they are worth seeing. We also had a very nice breakfast out at Lake Matheson (just a mile or so outside of Fox Glacier) which offered fantastic views of Mt Cook and some of the other Southern Alps. The bottom line is that if you’re looking for somewhere to break up the long drive down the west coast you could do a lot worse than stopping in at Franz Josef and staying at the Alpine Glacier Motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    209
    72
    16
    6
See reviews for
99
325
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very friendly welcome (as always seemed to be the case in New Zealand). Room was large and well-equipped. A few minutes walk to the centre of the town, and a lovely view of the mountains from in front of our room.
Only downsides were the small car park (which required a lot of manoeuvering to fit into the spaces) and the noise of the helicopters flying to and from the galciers (but that is not the fault of the hotel, and is the case for all the hotels in Franz Josef).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good quality motel in Frans, convenient for restaurants and bars. Parking outside your room. Wifi is free but does not work in the rooms on the petrol station side of the property. Ask for a room close to reception if you want wifi in your room. The petrol station can be a bit noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Modern clean motel conveniently located in Franz Josef. The manager was friendly and helpful. Room spacious and very comfortable king bed. We dined at Blue Ice a 2min walk from accommodation. Meal was great, pleasant staff. The Glacial hot pools are a must if you like hot pools. Set amongst bush you have a choice of 3 pools each set at varying temperatures ranging from 36-40degs. There are also private pools and massage. Very relaxing after a day walking the various tracks the area has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ealing
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed with our 4 month old and were a "walk up". Hosts were friendly and efficient, room was spotless and well equipped. Parking outside units and laundry for guests is handy for poor weather. Not fly-screened for sandflies but this wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: Walk up to the glacier face from town if you have the time - a good leg stretcher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our motel room was huge, with good kitchen facilities (if you need them - we didn't!) and the view was amazing of the mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free wifi.The location was close to the few restuarants and bars of the township.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were delighted with this motel which we stayed at 10th December 2012.The rooms were spotlessly clean and very nicely appointed. We were allocated a room at the end with lovely views of the snow capped mountains. The Manager was very helpful and friendly and ensured our stay was pleasurable. The restaurants and helicopter base were right on the doorstep. We would thoroughly recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: Perhaps pay a little extra for an end room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing