We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for Franz Josef”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Franz Josef”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Alpine Glacier in Jan, 2013. Our trip was cut short due to road issues just North of town but we were able to stay 1 night. The Manager, Billy was great. He gave us ideas on where to eat (the power was out in the entire town) and made recommendations on alternative activities as we had to leave earlier than expected. We went with his suggestions for dinner and a short heli-glacier sightseeing trip, which turned what could have been a busted trip into one of our top adventures in New Zealand. Highly recommend you look into the Glacier Lodge if staying in Franz Jo.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    221
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
113
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved our Stay in Franz Josef! The Alpine Motor lodge was so close to everything in town. The rooms were spacious and cozy! I especially loved the space heater in the bathroom. I wish I had one at home!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmiJane_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed there in the last week of December for a night. The motel is just a couple of minutes walk behind the main street of franz joseph. Very convenient. Rooms are large, spacious and very clean, all on the ground floor. The room had a small balcony, which was nice to sit out and enjoy a drink. Had a good view of the mountains from the room.
We were very surprised to find a jacuzzi in the bathroom, unfortunately did not have the time to try it out.
Very friendly manager, gave us good tips on where to eat .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our visit. The room (#11) was spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. We had a back patio with stunning views and lovely plants and birds. It is near the center of town (though it is a very small town). The front desk was very helpful and the Blue Ice restaurant was highly recommended, which we enjoyed. Great choice of motels in the area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I would highly recommend this motel. I found it spotlessly clean, owner very friendly & most helpful. Excellent facilities and excellent location. Thanks for a comfortable and enjoyable stay!! Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoralReef_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay at this location in November. The room and service exceeded our expectations. Here are the details:

LOCATION: Located in Franz Jospeh town and an easy walk to shops, restaurants and a Foursqaure grocery store. A short drive will bring you to the Franz Joseph glacier park and about a 25 minute drive to the Fox Glacier access road.

ROOM: We booked a room with the private deck and spa tub. The room was very clean and comfortable. Bed was good with plenty of nice pillows. The kitchenette had everything we needed. We didn't use the deck off our room as it was pretty chilly but it was very nice with a good view.

BATHROOM: The spa tub was lovely and big enough for two to soak after a day exploring and hiking around the glaciers. We went to the local hot pools and our tub in our room was just as good :) Very nice toiletries were provided and replenished.

STAFF: the managers were both extremely friendly and helpful. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and helped with bookings. The cleaning staff did a great job and we were very happy to find that even our coffee plunger had been cleaned when we returned to our room.

OVERALL: We were very satisfied with our stay and would not have changed a thing! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and had the King studio which was nice and big. We paid extra to ge the glacier view room, but I would recommend against that if there is a difference in prices - as we found that we were out most of the time anyways and the views are a plenty from around as well!
Our only other negative point was that when we tried calling the after hours number for some advice, we didnt get a reply. Other than that, the staff were very friendly and also accomodative when we wanted a slightly later checkout.
Tip - the staff was able to help with a discount on the Heli rides to the Glacier - so do look out for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itbkgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing