We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & modern with full facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean & modern with full facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks for a great stay in Franz Joseph. The room was exceptionally clean, good views, very modern and comfortable. Very reasonalbe rates too. Will definately be back again, hope to try out the spa next time. Kim

Room Tip: Go for the kingsize if available - its a very spacious room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    216
    73
    16
    6
See reviews for
104
331
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Alpine Glacier Motel – We stopped at the “i” site at the edge of town and asked about accommodations. They brought out a book and showed us the places that had registered with them and the prices being charged. We selected the Alpine Glacier.

The motel complex is on a small campus and is one block off the main street. Franz Josef is a very small town…everything is within walking distance…especially good if you’re having a drink or two with dinner.

The room we were given had a view from the front door and living room window. The room was spacious, very high ceiling, large bed (heated), end tables, plenty of lights, sofa, table and small kitchen. The bathroom/shower is large and modern. Amenities include a TV, 2 burner hob, microwave, sink, fridge, kettle, toaster and a complimentary selection of coffee, tea and hot chocolate (by the way. they give you free milk when you check in and tell you to "help yourself" if you need more). The closets have an iron and ironing board, hair dryer..pots, pans, dishes etc.

The front office staff, typically Billy or Mark are welcoming, friendly, happy we’re here and happy to accommodate any of our requests, from a flashlight to borrow, an extra portable heater (just in case) and info on activities – restaurants etc. There is an on-site coin-op laundry…helpful as we hadn’t done our laundry for a few days.

Their "off-season" price is a real bargain – listed on Trip Advisor as $76-$84…we’ve been places where we paid considerably more for rooms that were worth considerably less. We felt so welcome we decided to stay an extra day.

If you’re coming to Franz Josef, stay here, you won’t be disappointed…off season or not, we’ll stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Room 19 is the best in the complex. Rooms 14-19 appear to be on the ground level but the hotel is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomCincinnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Alpine Glacier Motor lodge twice now and have great experiences both times. The rooms are cheap ($105 NZD King room 2x Adults) for a nights stay.

The location is with in walking distance to everything in town. You can walk to the hot pools, to a cafe, bar or restaurant in town with ease. It is a stones throw from the local service station or 4 square supermarket to purchase food for cooking in the room. There is a free car spot outside your room also which is off street.

The rooms are large, quiet, spacious and modern with all features working as you would expect. The room is basically a large living area with the king size bed, lounge, tv, dinning table and chairs, kitchen bench, sink, kettle, hotplates, wardrobe and bedside tables. The bathroom is large suitable for people with disabilities and therefore very roomy and accommodating. There is very good heating in both the living room and bathroom which we had no trouble heating the entire place to a point where we turned it off over night as the room was warm enough and stayed warm throughout the night. From the front door we looked up at the snow capped mountains and along the range. It was very picturesque.

The staff have been very pleasant and friendly each time with no hassles on check in or check out. They are very easy going and are very easy to deal with, nothing is a problem. They offer sound advice for local dinning and attractions and offer advice to other locations that they are familiar with.

Overall it is a fantastic place to stay and especially more so for the cheap price. Highly recommended and next time we are in Franz we will stay again......

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a king bed. Well worth the little extra........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bluntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Fantastic apartment - great facilities - superb hosts ... location right around the corner from the petrol station and the town's main street.
Couldn't have done more for us - despite the dreadful weather.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of April. Everything was better than expected, Mark was very welcoming and helpful on check in, room was huge and the bed was very comfortable. Walked out the sliding door onto the deck to have alpine views was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Franz Josef.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quite similar, we were on the street side, but due to the lack of traffic, there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewChirnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The apartment accommodation for four was excellent, but as there was only one bathroom and certain members of our party felt that we needed two we were given an additional apartment on our second night at no extra charge. Brilliant customer service! The facilities for regrouping on a long trip were excellent - washing machines, driers etc. This was a brilliant location for exploring the glaciers by helicopter and on foot as well as accessing the wide range of other outdoor activities. A walk around Lake Matheson for beautiful reflections is a must.

Room Tip: Get a room near the corner and you can see Franz Joseph Glacier form the lounge window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Thank you guys. Your welcome was fantastic and the room you allocated to us was so well appointed and really comfortable. We travelled extensively in New Zealand and we felt at home from the moment we arrived. Hopefully, one day we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FWV400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing