We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I booked this motel prior to travelling to New Zealand and I am glad I did. We arrived in Franz Josef and went on our pre arranged half day glacier walk.

We then came back to the motel which was located just behind the petrol station where the glacier buses drop you off.

Our room was very spacious and clean with everything we could possibly want including the option of free DVD's.

Would recommend staying here as the location is so good, the only slight problem was that our free wifi did not work in the room and we had to sit on the decking to use it. This was not a problem for us but some people may not like it. The weather was quite stormy when we were there and this may have been the reason for the wifi not working. Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_miles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    219
    74
    16
    6
See reviews for
109
333
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during an extended trip across Australia and New Zealand.

As my title says, it was a good clean honest place.

The entire area is beautiful.

Room Tip: Plan ahead if you are going to do the "glacier" thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed at the deck studio for one night. The spa pool inside was pretty good. The room is very modern. You can see the glacier from the balcony.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suli_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

What a lovely motel off the main road in Franz Josef. Mark (the owner) was so lovely and gave us some very helpful advice for our travels. The room was very spacious, very clean and toasty warm. Would thoroughly recommend anyone this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedroandprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We arrived late at about 11pm. They had left a note and the key for our room.

We stayed in room 7, a family deluxe and the room was excellent. The room had everything you needed. The decor was lovely.

My favourite thing about the room was the information booklet, it was so informative and had great suggestions on what to do while there.

We were heading out to the glacier the next day and it was drizzling, and they lent us an umbrella without us asking.

I would have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We only spent a night here and we were very happy with our choice. The manager is unbelievably helpful and friendly. They are definitely in the right business. You feel so welcome. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giftie-Gift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Our King bed plus twin bed room was adequately spacious. It also had two nightstands, a couch, breakfast table with three chairs, and a kitchen with half refrigerator and 2 stove burners, sink, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, dishes and pots/pans and flatware. There was an ironing board, but no hair dryer. (oops, we found the hair dryer the next morning in the nightstand. When I suggested to the desk clerk that they put it in the bathroom cabinet, or in the closet with the ironing board and iron, he informed me that it was written in the black folder where to find the hair dryer. He did not seem to appreciate my logic.) The weather was mild to warm, so we did not need heating or cooling. It is convenient to restaurants, the grocery, and the bus stop.

Note that it is an hour walk to the Franz Josef Car Park (relatively flat and easy) and then another 15 minutes (one way) to view the Glacier. It is 45 minutes (one way) from the Car Park to get up to the Glacier.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Address: 17 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 spacious, well appointed, ground floor studio and family units. Central village location with spectacular alpine and rainforest views, walk to restaurants, shops and attractions. King, queen, deck and spa units with kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV, DVD players and complimentary DVD library. Spa pool, guest laundry and activities booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Glacier Motor Hotel Franz Josef
Alpine Glacier Hotel
Alpine Glacier Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing