We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view! Great new contemporary feeling restaurant”

The Glasshouse Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Price range: $6 - $28
Description: With stunning glacier views the Glasshouse Restaurant provides casual ala carte dining designed for families and leisure guests. Open for buffet ora la carte breakfast from 6.30am to 10.00am as well as a la carte dinner(plus salad bar) from 5.00pm to 9.30pm, daily.
Restaurant details
Description: With stunning glacier views the Glasshouse Restaurant provides casual ala carte dining designed for families and leisure guests. Open for buffet ora la carte breakfast from 6.30am to 10.00am as well as a la carte dinner(plus salad bar) from 5.00pm to 9.30pm, daily.
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a view! Great new contemporary feeling restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just had snacks and beers(Tui's) but the menu looked wonderful . We just needed a rest after tramping around the lake in the mist and some sun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MALEGARDNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear MALEGARDNER,

Thank you. I appreciate that you have taken the time to send us your feedback.
I understand that this time you only visited us for a snack and beer but hope that you return to the Glasshouse Restaurant again to put our great menu to test.

Once again, thank you!

Best regards,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We order the steak and goat curry
As main, each meal were cooked to perfection, a credit to they head chef for great work. Our service staff was Alwyn, he perform such a discreet but efficient service. Comparable to an European Michelin star. Entrees, deserts, and salad bar were really delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Charles N,

Thank you very much for rating our Glasshouse Restaurant so highly and amongst top European Restaurants. Your feedback means a lot to us and it is a great reward for all the hard work our kitchen and service team is putting in on a daily basis to look after our valuable guests.

All the very best to you and please stay in touch.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Came recommended by sister hotel, but....”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We are traveling around New Zealand's South Island with our three kids (6 to 10) and our hotel recommended their sister hotel's restaurant for dinner. Given the caliber of our hotel, we figured we couldn't go wrong following their recommendation.

The restaurant is on the second floor, just off the reception area and is clean and bright. The back half of the restaurant has a good view of the mountains and was basic, no frills.

The restaurant was not busy and we were seated right away. The staff was very friendly and attentive, checking on us periodically through out the meal. The menu had a range of interesting looking options, including a couple vegetarian items.

There was a children's menu that feature a few standard selections. Our kids went with the chicken strips and fries and various fruit juices. My wife had the salad bar and I had the vegetarian mushroom pasta dish and a cider beer. The chicken appeared to be the pressed kind versus chicken breast and the fries were ok, though they tasted a bit like the oil the chicken was fried in, and our kids didn't eat most of their meal as a result. The salad bar was your basic salad bar. The pasta was ok, but didn't didn't have as much flavor as I had hoped, similar to the garlic bread we had as a starter, which lacked garlic.

Overall, the meal didn't rise to the occasion, especially given it was recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Loveforfood,

Thank you for sending us your detailed review of our restaurant. Feedback like yours assist us in our aim to continuously reviewing and raising the level of service and food offered in our hotel.
I have already discussed your comments with our Head Chef and am pleased to advise that we have taken the necessary steps to uplift the presentation of our salad bar. We will further review the dishes featured on our kids menu and revise quality issues were needed. Just for your information, the chicken stripes your children have enjoyed are a quality product from one of New Zealand’s main food suppliers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to the restaurant in the hopefully not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Zealand Coach Tour”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great food, great company,great atmosphere,friendly efficient staff what more could anyone want .

80 is more than 50

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Roy B,

Thank you for posting such fantastic feedback about your recent experience in our Restaurant on TripAdvisor.com. I am really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your meal, the service and general atmoshpere. It was great to have you with us!

Please stay in touch and visit us again when you are next in New Zealand.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Meal”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were on a tour in Nov 2013. We had a lovely meal, three choices were available but the lamb was great. Best meal of the tour. Breakfast was good to but then the whole hotel was very nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at The Glasshouse Restaurant, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Kristina B,

Congratulations for being the first to review our Glasshouse Restaurant on TripAdvisor.com .
Your feedback is much appreciated!

Please stay in touch and visit us again when you are back in New Zealand.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glasshouse Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Glasshouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing