We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic asian flavours” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snake Bite Brewery

Snake Bite Brewery
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Thai, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asian Street Food and Kiwi Favourites. Ideal for sharing! We are the former 88 Asian Fusion restaurant. In May 2015 we had a fire. We re opened as Snake Bite Brewery in December 2015 offering the same fantastic Asian Dishes made from fresh local produce with a few additions including a bakery and some of the best South Island Craft Beer on tap. We look forward to you joining us.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic asian flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Coming from Asia, it was lovely to see an Asian fusion restaurant in an unexpected place, but again coming from Asia where cheap good food is abundant, it was a small cultural shock to see the prices considering that the food would have been typical street fare. Nevertheless it is an authentic flavour, and the service was superlative.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    237
    76
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fusion that works well.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I dined here for breakfast on Monday 23rd and it was just so amazing. Food was the nicest mix of tasty and elegant and the guy that was working was a real accommodating sweetheart. I would defiantely come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best service ever! Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited on our honeymoon. Came for dinner and drinks and then went back for brunch and coffee the next morning. Great!

Helpful?
Thank Dani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best caramel scrolls ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Super funky café, wonderful friendly service and amazing cabinet food! Loved the music and can't beat the lovely mountain views while relaxing with a cuppa and something scrummy to nibble on! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mojo265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Friendly FOH Staff and nice food, considering the seclusion of west coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We went in for a late night diner after arriving from Queenstown as we were visiting ex-workmates . It had only been a day or so since the restaurant had started and as we were explained by our lady host, they were gearing up for some 2000 plus travellers in the Christmas season. The lady was from Christchurch and had a background in Advertisement and marketing for years before moving into restaurants. She made us feel comfortable among psychedelic neon light interiors with colourful plastic chairs and glasses. A tad bit dark for my personal taste but it was fine.

At the other end I assume they were starting up with some DJ playing music for the late night party and there was also some young crowd behind us. Their menu definitely justifies their fusion theme and given the seclusion of the location like Franz Josef I could possibly pardon the use of readymade pastes like a Thai green curry or a chilly sambal straight from a jar.

Beyond everything the friendly service that we received was one of the noticeable fact since New Zealand doesn't have a high service standard overall. We also offered to leave tips through card since we were not carrying spare cash but the Lady at the front refused it.

A pleasant experience all in all, for a change.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JainikS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Bite Brewery also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Snake Bite Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing