We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Snake Bite Brewery

Snake Bite Brewery
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Asian Street Food and Kiwi Favourites. Experience a variety of authentic dishes from Southeast Asia. Beer is what we unashamedly love. Some of NZ's best Craft Beers in stock. Start the day with a hearty breakfast. Served from 7:30am We bake our own pies, cakes and slices daily.
La Paz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Absolutely delicious - the beef cheeks were tender and tasty and a huge serving size. Dumplings were also great - especially the dipping sauce. Couldn't resist the crepes with banana and toffee and coconut icecream - again delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JourneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    280
    86
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So delicious!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in at 88 for an early dinner on our South Island tour. The entrees looked so appealing we decided to share them all! Each one was incredibly delicious. The squid was my partners favourite and I loved the dumplings. The sauces that went with each dish were delicious and complemented them well.

Finishing with the vermicelli salad was perfect. So light and tasty! The owner, Billy...was so accommodating and friendly. We would definitely eat here again. I don't believe that review below that says he was rude! Impossible!

Helpful?
Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The only place with power during a power cut.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Franz Josef in heavy rain and to a power cut. 88 was the only eatery/bar in town with power. Had a fantastic meal and the place was doing a great trade. Power came back on during dinner though didn't see the place slow down. I had the green curry and it was delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming place”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Just called in for a drink in the evening as there was a jam session planned. Billie was delightful and very welcoming sat down and chatted with us and other customers for a while. Very pleasant evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rae V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great resto!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Just had lunch here awhile ago and pretty impressed with the place. Food was pretty good, loved the boysenberry cream puff - impeccable! - and the music too! Great way to spend some time hiding from the rain!

Would definitely love to be back!

Helpful?
Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Bite Brewery also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Snake Bite Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing