We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed April 19, 2007

I guess we expected more from our Rainforest room for the price. It was incredibly dark and although asked, the reception staff did not replace one of the ceiling lights that had failed. The furniture in the room did not make good use of the space and there was little storage. The room designer was obviously more concerned with style than functionality. We stayed there for 2 nights. The location was good, but there are probably better value places to stay

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark, poorly-lit room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    128
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
49
199
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside,UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

Stayed one night.Ground floor unit which backed onto the forest!!
Had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable.
Had B and B(They may not do this as standard) and the breakfast was delivered to our room at the time requested.It was probably the best prepared breakfast I had on the whole trip!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank plod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

My partner and I had a great stay at Punga Grove, Franz Josef. We stayed in one of the "Executive Rainforest Suites". I wouldn't say that they're incredibly private nor that they back onto dense rainforest as the hotel's website suggests, but the positives far outweigh these inaccuracies. The rooms were great - really large, quiet and modern, with a nice big comfy bed, spa bath, fireplace, TV and DVD player, heating. Very clean. There's DVDs you can get from reception free of charge, and the hotel owners are more than happy to give you a good idea of what to do in the quaint little (but very touristy) township of Franz Josef. A little on the pricier side - if I was to visit this area again I might opt for some place cheaper, with less of the little luxuries - but a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My wife, brother-in-law and I spent one night here, as a base for visiting the Fox Glacier. We had a terraced house, with a kitchen, bathroom, 2 bedrooms and large living/dining area. It was a short walk to shops, restaurants and the glacier tour centres. The place was quiet, smart, spacious, clean and reasonably well equipped. However, it was rather expensive at NZ$250/night, since we stayed in better places for less in the South Island.

  • Liked — Location, quiet, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Rather expensive
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2006

I can't say I'd visit Punga Grove again though it seemed to be nicer than the other hotels in the area. It was overpriced at 250 a night and while it was relatively clean, it was a buggy area (rainforest, not a surprise) and hardly a place I would be anxious to return to. That being said, it was conveniently located in the middle of Franz Joseph town. I found the manager/host, pleasant enough but in general, these townsfolk were far less friendly than I have found across the rest of the country.

  • Liked — Relatively modern and new
  • Disliked — the bugs
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelqueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

Accommodation in rural New Zealand can be a bit hit and miss, but we were lucky with our choice in Franz Josef. We stayed at the Punga Grove Hotel, in a rainforest suite. (Punga is a type of fern, found across New Zealand)

The hotel is located one block back from the main road through town, in a quiet but central location. There's plenty of parking on site.
Our room was newly renovated with a queen size bed, mini kitchen and large lounge area. Everything was spotlessly clean. The 'suite' was actually a single room, but there was plenty of space to spread out. The room also has a very private balcony opening out into the rainforest.

Importantly for NZ, the heating was excellent with an electric heater as well as attractive gas 'fire'. The beds had electric blankets. .
The new bathroom had a good spa bath.

However the highlight of the motel was the friendly and thoughtful service provided by the owners. ON check in they provided us with a town map, restaurant recommendations and plenty of information on how to use the facilities of the room. They also had a small range of free DVDs for guest use (very useful if you're rained in).
Unfortunatly we didn't check out the other rooms, but the care and attention shown by the owners lead me to believe that they'd be a good choice for a family. I'd certainly stay at the Punga Grove again.

Helpful?
10 Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 14, 2006

For a one night stay, the apartment was fine. It would be advisable to look a few miles outside of town if you want a bed and breakfast in this area, but the place was clean, the hosts were cordial, and it is one block from town.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Property: Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 2000, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Motel And Suites
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing