We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but buggy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Adequate but buggy”
Reviewed December 27, 2006

I can't say I'd visit Punga Grove again though it seemed to be nicer than the other hotels in the area. It was overpriced at 250 a night and while it was relatively clean, it was a buggy area (rainforest, not a surprise) and hardly a place I would be anxious to return to. That being said, it was conveniently located in the middle of Franz Joseph town. I found the manager/host, pleasant enough but in general, these townsfolk were far less friendly than I have found across the rest of the country.

  • Liked — Relatively modern and new
  • Disliked — the bugs
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelqueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    128
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
49
199
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

Accommodation in rural New Zealand can be a bit hit and miss, but we were lucky with our choice in Franz Josef. We stayed at the Punga Grove Hotel, in a rainforest suite. (Punga is a type of fern, found across New Zealand)

The hotel is located one block back from the main road through town, in a quiet but central location. There's plenty of parking on site.
Our room was newly renovated with a queen size bed, mini kitchen and large lounge area. Everything was spotlessly clean. The 'suite' was actually a single room, but there was plenty of space to spread out. The room also has a very private balcony opening out into the rainforest.

Importantly for NZ, the heating was excellent with an electric heater as well as attractive gas 'fire'. The beds had electric blankets. .
The new bathroom had a good spa bath.

However the highlight of the motel was the friendly and thoughtful service provided by the owners. ON check in they provided us with a town map, restaurant recommendations and plenty of information on how to use the facilities of the room. They also had a small range of free DVDs for guest use (very useful if you're rained in).
Unfortunatly we didn't check out the other rooms, but the care and attention shown by the owners lead me to believe that they'd be a good choice for a family. I'd certainly stay at the Punga Grove again.

Helpful?
10 Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 14, 2006

For a one night stay, the apartment was fine. It would be advisable to look a few miles outside of town if you want a bed and breakfast in this area, but the place was clean, the hosts were cordial, and it is one block from town.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2006

We booked Punga Grove on the strength of their website and the fact that other (cheaper)accomodation was fully booked. The website promised luxury accomodation and a rainforest setting. We did not get this. Our suite (no motel rooms available) was spacious, but had generic motel furniture and was therefore devoid of any style. The suite was at the entrance to the complex and had a small veranda with about 6 feet of rainforest before the wall of the next motel.
The motel owners were helpful however.
If you do book this place, ask about the location of the room as this will affect the amount of "rainforest setting" you get.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DouglasR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2005

The hotel was clean with all amenities. Good large room with kitchen attached and balcony leading out to a forested area.

We asked for a ground floor room and had no problem with them changing it.

The owners couln't do enough to help and were very friendly.

Easy walk to restaurants and town, with a good view of the mountains.

Recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Labyrinths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2005

Punga Grove provides a great base to visit Franz Josef and Fox glacier's.

We selected a luxury studio for two nights. The studio was immaculate and extremely comfortable. It featured a king bed, leather sofa, gas log fire, DVD, kitchenette, spa bath and underfloor heating (most welcomed in winter). In addition, the studio overlooked a rainforest and was extremely private. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated.

The owners of Punga Grove were very helpful and assisted us in deciding which glacier to explore. In the end we chose the heli-hike tour on Fox Glacier as it was slightly cheaper than the same tour on Franz Josef and longer in duration. I am fairly budget conscious (and not too keen on helicopters) but I would definitely recommend spending the extra money for the heli-hike as it is the only way to see/explore the ice caves which form higher up the glacier.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2005

We had one of the superior rooms and it was delightful. The room was very comfortable with king size bed, T V, DVD player, Gas log fire, large sofa, table, terrace with chairs and a small kitchen area. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath & shower & was spacious. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but will provide a contintal breakfast if ordered the night before. Local restaurants are within easy walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Property: Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 2000, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Motel And Suites
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing