We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
141
148
50
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
148
50
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall patioexecutive studioone nightsouth islandnew zealandtwo nightsmain bedroomgas fireplacebedroom unitthe main streethot poolsshort walkin townspa bathcentral locationsnow capped mountainselectric blankets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 360 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were simple, clean, functional and nice. They were large and comfortable. The host couple are super nice and helpful. They made our stay very enjoyable. The location of the hotel is on the road behind the main drag, which is perfect. You are far enoug away from the glacier helicopter base to avoid the noise. Yet, you are a very short walk to the main drag where the best restaurants and cafe are located. Ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Room was spacious and a great bathtub! Very clean. Helpful staff, but the woman at the front desk (I believe she is the owner) was not that friendly, but she was helpful. We were also disappointed in the "view" as we were under the impression it was suppose to be a nice one of the mountains but it was just of trees that were immediately next to our patio. Room was also dark. But it looked like one of the best places in the area as compared to some of the other hotels. The location is also perfect as it's right in town.

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire about the actual view that you get if you plan to spend time on the patio.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citygirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This motel was in a good location, walking distance to town & restaurants
It was very clean and comfortable and it was good to have a bath in the ensuite to be able to relax in after a long day walking the glacier. Tea and coffee is provided in the room also handy to have a kitchenette and fridge. Staff were very friendly and helpfull.
Basic but good i would not hesitate to stay there again and would have no problem recommending Punga Grove motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieqlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and found it to be a very comfortable, clean and spacious motel. Our bedroom was up in a loft overlooking the lounge below. We had a nice outlook onto greenery off the lounge although it was very wet most of the time we were there. There is a laundry room for guests if you need it. the reception staff are helpful.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good as it is in a back street off the highway.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was a nice place for our one night stop over in Franz Josef. Certainly not a high end motel but perfectly adequate for our short stay. It had everything we needed.
The stay was friendly and the room was very clean.
Not sure if you could get anything better n this little town.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews