We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The motel was clean and the room was a little bit poor. If you use the bono from go-kiwi, they have to provide you with an apartment. The motel was empty and they said that they only had one bedroom left, because they cash the bono for more money and you only use a room instead of the apartment that cost less for them. They didn't even offer any breakfast to compensate the different price and because with this bonos they are the only motel in that area they take advantage of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    123
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
47
197
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

stayed here for two nights . Fairly basic but good value for money. Quiet spot, easy walk to town, no view as the deck abutted the forest.
A helpful young girl in the office . We appreciated the launderette facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOA,india
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

It was a beautiful place to live in, the staff was very friendly , except that there were no restaurants in the hotel and so we had to walk , to have a bite . I would definitely suggest the hotel to anyone who wants to stay and do adventures at Franz Joseph

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeshcounto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Big spacious room with fully equipped kitchenette.Very modern and my friend was very impressed with the design of the bathroom.Excellant location as it was just off the main road and was very quiet.Staff was as usual in New Zealand very friendly.Only 1 thing let the room down..there were 2 big black flies inside and we had to swat them.Dont know where they came from.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We enjoyed 2 nights stay here in May and would simply say: Good accomodation, clean, near to all the sites in the town and overall a place I'd recommend to rest your head. Not particularly bursting with soul but the glacier is so awesome you'd be advised not to spend too much time in the hotel room anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived in Franz Josef for a 3 night stay and ended up leaving a night early without refund. We expected 4 and a half star and what we got was more like 3. Our 2 bedroom unit smelt like mould and was just in need of some love. There were holes in walls, hair bands behind the bed and towels rails falling off. The worst was management's son was driving in and out all hours of the night in his loud car and parking right in front of our unit. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanzon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This place is a little bit away from the town center but is excellent in terms of location, decor and design. We stayed in a 1 BHk , had a loft on the upper floor where the kids slept. The living rea had a nice glass enclosed verandah which was just great.
The decor was very nice , kids loved the place. There was free wi-fi . We stayed only for a night but it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Grove Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Property: Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Address: 40 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Grove Motel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punga Grove Motel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Grove Motel And Suites
Punga Grove Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing