We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE IN STAY IN FRANZ JOSEF!!! ”
Review of Franz Josef Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franz Josef Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start?

As soon as you come in the driveway, you are taken by the beautiful Greenland surrounding this amazing hotel.

You walk in and the manager makes you feel like HE is the visitor in YOUR hotel.
He is like nothing I have ever seen.
He is extremely passionate about this amazing oasis that you'll never want to leave.
The food here is terrific and at such a bargain!
I highly recommend the smoked chicken bruscetta and for your main, I'd go with the rack of lamb.
You cannot go wrong with locally sourced produce.

It takes only 4 minutes by car on average to get to the town centre and another 8 minutes to drive to the glacier where you can park your car and walk up to the glacier.

There is a sense of peace when you sit outside on the decking (which is covered and heated).
The view of the amazing Greenland and of the beautiful pond which is well looked after is absolutely immaculate.

I cannot wait to come here every year until the day I die.

We absolutely loved the hotel and the people who run it so perfectly.

Truly a remarkable place...

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mouhamad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Franz Josef Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 369 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

"Wow" are the words to describe the stay with Franz Josef Oasis. The hotel is situated about a 5 min drive outside the main city area but it is gorgeous. The hotel is spotless and super clean. The heated blankets combined with a spa bathtub and a clean and comfortable bathroom made the stay well worth it! The service is friendly and always helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through this area! They made our stay fantastic! Thanks!

Room Tip: The fireplace is not real but a fake one, not a bid deal but I was sad when I arrived ;)
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimwit91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Franz Josef Oasis in May. The Room was perfect, super comfy bed, bathroom with a little spa, very clean,mega wide tv screen with sky, delicious breakfast and very kind service. Passionate managers and owner!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We Stayed at the Oasis for a couple of nights and used it as a base for doing the Glaciers last week. Yes, it is a couple of K's out of town but if you have transport it takes only a few minutes to go into town. The motel and facilities are all brand new. The rooms are warm, well appointed and the king beds are divine. The hostess and kitchen staff were lovely and while we were unable to sample the dinner menu, the breakfasts are excellent with fresh fruit, cereals and bacon and eggs in a lovely restaurant setting. Wifi is unlimited and free and signal strength and speed were excellent (there appeared to be roof mounted wireless access points near every room). The only con I can think of are the external concrete walkways to the rooms, which were a little narrow IMHO and could be potentially dangerous to the unwary or slightly inebriated. The concrete walkways are only about 30cm above ground level but I can envisage someone coming a cropper and breaking an ankle. Overall, an excellent facility.

Room Tip: There are no views of the glaciers here so it doesn't rally matter which room you pick. The Nort...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in April, it is north of the town and naturally you need a car but please do yourself a favour and stay here. The room is divine, a lovely modern, very stylishly designed room. The bathroom is something you would find in a 5 star hotel, in fact the whole room is. There is a great fireplace that if it isn't cold you can just put on just to see the pretty pretend flames, a great touch but if you needed warmth which I am sure is essential in FJ, then it would be very romantic.

We had the degustation dinner, note that it is not open every night so check, on our first night (Friday) and it was really good, beautifully cooked and presented in a fine dining setting, so good to eat, drink, then just walk to your room after. That's the definition of a holiday dinner in my book. The laundry is well thought out, they will loan you an airer if there aren't any in the laundry room. It is the most perfect setting for a wedding, it would be magic, the area they have set aside for such an occasion is beautiful, gazebo, pond, ducks, sheep, green pastures & to have the restaurant right beside it with accommodation, couldn't be better.

The whole place is perfect and the most luxurious place to stay in FJ for sure. Wi Fi included and worked perfectly. I think they can accommodate vans or campervans also as we saw one there near the laundry. We didn't get to do the flight, or anything else really, we had planned due to a very heavy low cloud and impending rain but to have to a room of this standard, to just lie back, read and relax was magic. Had a good look at the township, lots of nice places to eat & shop, if you get time go and take a look at the West Coast Wildlife Centre and pay for the backstage pass to see baby Kiwi's in their incubators, so very interesting and if you love wildlife, so important to see the wonderful work they are doing to bring back the tiniest of the Kiwi's from extinction. Loved the whole time there.

Restaurant staff, a German lady I think, sorry didn't get her name, lovely, friendly and an asset to the place. Continental breakfast is offered but really it's more than that, they include small serving of bacon and eggs however you want. First time we have ever had that anywhere. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are no cooking facilities other than a kettle etc, no plates or cutlery, the ide...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Booked this motel through the i-site at beginning of March and were a bit skeptical as it was a new place and they didnt know too much about it. Made sure we went back to the i-site to let them know just how fantastic the place is. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent but dinner was out of this world!! It appeared a bit pricey when we made the booking but all in all it works out as very reasonable and for the quality of the whole place an absolute bargain. If we ever return to New Zealand this will be a definite recall. Possible disadvantage for some is that its some distance north of the town but for us it was perfect as it was quiet and peaceful with gorgeous views.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossR696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived here the day after the cyclone did. The staff were very welcoming and we were very impressed by the fact that the place had power due to the owner's foresight when they built it complete with generator. The rest of the town was struggling without power but we had an amazing room with warm heating and were treated to a sumptuous 6 course dinner with matching wines for only $65, by far the best value meal during our NZ holidays.
We were sorry to leave our comfortable bed, the well appointed bathroom with everything being absolutely immaculate. Hopefully we'll be able to see the place again with sunshine! !

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharnette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,389 reviews
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
666 reviews
2.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
252 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Oasis

Address: State Highway 6 | Franz Josef North, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $70 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in August 2013 and offering Luxurious rooms with free WiFi and a fire place, Franz Josef Oasis is just 10 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing