We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but unwelcoming”
Review of Franz Josef Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Franz Josef Oasis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Gorgeous room. Not much of a view, just onto an empty field. When you could find staff members they were very nice but it's not a place where they are readily available. We stayed here for my 50th birthday and they didn't offer us even a free breakfast or glass of wine! It's quite a ways from town so be aware. We did get very fortunate with the staff who helped us with a ride to a restaurant that night so we wouldn't have to drive tipsy. They accidentally charged us for breakfast but rectified the situation. No kitchenette - most of the places we stayed had one so it was a little inconvenient. Overall nice but I'd try somewhere else next time

Room Tip: Try to get something with a better view than ours! The farmer's field next door was not very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 385 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

As promised the room and bathroom were very comfortable and nicely furnished. We were only staying one night, so the absence of a wardrobe did not bother us. It is becoming a standard feature in NZ motels and guesthouses just to provide a hook or hanger. Can be a problem if you want to dress up whilst on holiday or if you want to stay a couple of nights and forget about the suitcase. We found the siting of this newly furnished motel unfortunate. There are hardly any plants or trees around, the view is out to the highway or the car park and the nearest restaurant is about 5 km away. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brusselscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great room, brand new facilities and plenty of space. But no wardrobe and the door to the room was the sliding French window leading onto the veranda which was the access to the car park for the half dozen rooms in our row that overlooked the lake - we were in room 16. A new manager is just moving in and offered a mouth watering degustation menu for dinner for $60, but the dining area is adequate for breakfast but not for such a dinner as it also serves as the reception with guests wandering through. The helpful ( outgoing ) manageress booked us into Blue Ice who sent a Hummer to collect us and a Dutch couple with whom we ended up having a lovely evening in Franz Josef before returning to the somewhat isolated Oasis.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellersboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A beautiful new hotel set in its own grounds just outside the town, we stayed for one night very relaxing evening. Large bedroom and bathroom with all the facilities required for a comfortable stay. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the young lady from Ireland.

Room Tip: Rooms view open view of the grounds very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

On the positive side you get a spotlessly clean room with a comfortable kingsize bed covered in lovely white linen and a down comforter. There is a nice artificial fireplace in the room, free WiFi (but slow) and a large TV with Sky channels. The staff are very friendly and most helpful.
On the not so nice side, our room looked out onto the driveway, with no windows that can open. If you want fresh air, you must open the sliding door and sacrifice your privacy. There is no hanging space, except for a single hook mounted on a wall. There was also a single bed against the wall where the only hook was mounted. Being 5km or so out of town, also means no cel reception and no restaurants. A toaster and microwave would have been a great asset to this room.
The location and facilities were an inconvenience for us. Should we ever visit Franz Joseph again, I believe we would rather look at one of the many nice establishment located in town.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WillemLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Location: Located about a 5 minute drive past town center. It’s in a really quiet area where there isn’t much else..which turned out to be really great for star gazing. If you don’t have a car, it’s probably not where you’d want to stay as it seems to not be a place where there are a lot of taxis

Rooms: We stayed in an executive deluxe suite with a spa bath, which turned out to be kind of a smallish bath. This hotel boasts the best beds in NZ, and they did not disappoint – the king bed was so amazingly comfortable, with fluffy pillows and nice down comforter. The room itself was a really nice size with a little sitting area near an electric fireplace/heater, each seat with a little throw on it. Bathroom was a good size and came with really nice spa-like amenities including big pump bottles of shampoo, conditioner body wash, hair dryer, etc. All rooms are on ground level and we had one facing a field/pond, so it gave us a little more privacy. Wifi was free, signal strength so so. Cell connectivity was little to none, which wasn’t great.

Other: Best meal we had was Blue Ice Café – if I could have eaten there twice, I would have.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a great one night stay at Franz Josef Oasis - wish we'd stayed a bit longer! Staff were really helpful and very welcoming. The room was large with a fireplace and chairs at one end and a large bed with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was large too with walk-in shower/wet room. Everything was was impeccable, so clean. The hotel is slightly outside the town of Franz Josef which isn't a problem if you have access to a car. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoCool3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
694 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
326 reviews
2.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Oasis

Address: State Highway 6 | Franz Josef North, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Price Range: $136 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Josef Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in August 2013 and offering Luxurious rooms with free WiFi and a fire place, Franz Josef Oasis is just 10 minutes drive from Franz Josef Glacier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Franz Josef Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing