We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mueller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mueller
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were very disappointed in our stay at Mueller Motel. We knew when we booked that this motel has the budget traveller in mind but considering we only paid about $10 less than other accommodation in the south island it certainly didn't meet par. Wall paper pealing off the wall, bathroom musty and mouldy, dated linen etc. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer G, Duty Manager at The Mueller, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Rosieej

I appreciate the time you have taken to review Mueller Motels. Franz Josef is currently in the midst of its peak season where prices for accommodation are at a premium. Mueller Motels as you stated are indeed operated with the budget traveller in mind. I am proud to report that we have managed to keep our tariff under the $100 mark for the season. Aa far as I am aware, we are the only accommodation provider in Franz Josef that offers a private en suite bathroom in this price bracket. We appreciate your feedback and will indeed look further into the matters you have bought to hand.

Kind regards

Greer Goodall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

You get what you pay for in this motel. Basic and tired, the bathroom was very musty, but it was clean and all we required for the two nights in Franz Joseph. Be aware check in is after 3pm otherwise no one is there :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer G, Duty Manager at The Mueller, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Mueller Motels. Whilst basic, the rooms are clean and comfortable as stated in your review.

We have recently updated all booking avenues to advise guests that check in is from 3pm with the Publican or alternatively guests can check in with the friendly staff at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier, a mere 800 meters to the south of the Mueller Motels complex.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Franz Josef to the fullest. I am sure being so close to the Mueller Motels very own glow woem grotto, you would have experienced all the wonderful native wildlife and vistas the property has to offer.

Warm regards

Greer Goodall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Mueller Motel in Franz Josef after booking online a few days prior. The place was deserted and all the reception/restaurant/bar areas were locked. We finally noticed a sign advising that check-in was at another hotel closer to town, the Scenic Hotel. When we drove up there to check in, they told us that they used the Mueller Motel as their staff accommodation and since it was closed on Sundays we had to check in through the Scenic. Went back to the motel room and it felt like we were at the place from The Shining. Room was old fashioned but clean and not a soul around. Spooky!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer G, Duty Manager at The Mueller, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Mueller Motels in Franz Josef. The Mueller motels are located 800 metres north of the Franz Josef village. The property is large and boasts many great features including the Haast Bar and Mueller Motels. The Mueller Motel rooms are only used for Motel guests and are conveniently located in a quiet and tranquil building away from the road and any other noise. We offer clean and comfortable accommodation for the budget minded traveller, also offering generous discounts on food in both the Haast Public Bar and the Glasshouse restaurant in the Scenic Hotel. We have noted your comments regarding clarity of check in. We are currently updating our website and third party websites to include this critical information.

Kind regards

Greer Goodall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Franz Josef hotels

Rosedale, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

About the only thing going for this motel was the value which was better than most in Franz Josef. It was very basic and tired and the bed very uncomfortable. We did have dinner at there and received a discount. The servings were huge and delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer G, Duty Manager at The Mueller, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Mueller Motels. As stated in your review we offer value based accommodation in the tourist township of Franz Josef. We offer all Mueller Motel guests generous discounts on meals when dining at The Haas Public Bar or at The Glasshouse Restaurant based at the Scenic Hotel property. I agree the meals are delicious and again value for money. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Greer Goodall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

March 2013 driving south from Blenheim we needed a good meal & comfortable night's sleep. On the northern edge of Franz Josef township we saw a sign on what we recognised as a one-time Tourist Hotel Corporation Hotel (now Meullers Motel). Price perfect and offering discount dinner too! Rosie, the Manager, made us very welcome. We had a very comfortable unit, and dinner -- venison pie for me, seafood for her -- was delicious. Value for $ was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Going_again07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer G, Duty Manager at The Mueller, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
A warm welcome is exactly what we wish you to fell when you stay with us at the Mueller Motels. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the value on offer. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Mueller Motels, we hope to see you next time you pass through Franz Josef.

Kind regards

Greer Goodall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
22.8 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
22.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
22.9 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
22.6 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mueller

Property: The Mueller
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mueller 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mueller offers clean and comfortable accommodation in Franz Josef Glacier suitable for travellers looking for an affordable option. Enjoy the peaceful surroundings and stunning vistas afforded by this iconic location, all within walking distance to the township. As well as dining options in the Haast Bar & Bistro, you will also be able to enjoy numerous on-site facilities such as a bottle shop, gaming machines and a glow-worm walk.As a valued guest, you will receive a discount when dining in the Haast Bar Bistro, or Glasshouse Restaurant situated in the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Mueller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing