We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Doughnuts!!”
Review of Picnic's Bakery - CLOSED

Picnic's Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Doughnuts!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We went there on a Saturday and the really nice Lady told us that this is the special day for doughnuts! Wow - best I ever had. Wonderful fillings like passion fruit-custard or mango-vanilla.
So yummie and the price (we paid 4$) is great value for the size. I had it for lunch and it filled me up til dinner :-)
Everything else looked really good, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaNoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    43
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try Picnic Bakery :)”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were wandering around Franz Josef hungry and not sure where to go where we stumbled upon the picnic bakery. It's a lovely bright pink bakery inside and out. At first I thought it was called the princess bakery because of the crown above the sign. They had home made doughuts and the chicken pies where to die for. It was lovely tender strips of roast chicken in the pies and I think these are the best pies in New Zealand. We could help ourselves to hot and cold drinks the girl was on her own in the shop on a quiet sunday she was friendly and welcoming and there is usually seating outside but it was pouring with rain so we sat on the small table inside with good food, good company, and good tunes playing on the radio. They do everything cakes, pizzas, rolls, sandwiches, bagguettes, yummy pies, drinks. Really lovely!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious & filling!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great choice here & lovely service! Everything I had was delicious - made a perfect picnic lunch for glacier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wand1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice bakery”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Exceptionally friendly service, not too bad food. Especially good to load up on the carbs ahead of some glacier hiking!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggi_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Bulky but tasteless”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Following our walk up to the glacier I was pretty hungry and the Glacier Pasty seemed to be appropriate for the job. It was indeed filling but absolutely lacking in any taste - only the sweet chili sauce made it vaguely palatable. I had a lot of pies in NZ and they were all good to excellent, but his pasty was simply bulk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picnic's Bakery also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing