We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay here. The villas are very comfortable, with plenty of room and lovely surroundings. The staff are friendly and helpful so overall this is a great place to stay while exploring the Franz Josef area. One little niggle was that they charge for internet access, whereas it was included every place else we stayed in New Zealand.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LifeOfExploration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    175
    32
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
298
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Very comfortable villas with clean rooms and a nice lounge. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were well appointed. The premises are close to the village and just ashort drive out of town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Our stay at Glenfern Villas was so relaxing. We were lucky to have 3 beautiful sunny days and we had villa 6 at the back with the best mountain views of any room. Two bedrooms easily accommodated two adults and three boys. The best part for us was the son of the managers who lived behind and kept my boys entertained until bedtime every day. We could read and relax with a glass of wine while they played on the trampoline, ran around and climbed trees. Thank you Ben for being so welcoming!

I would definitely recommend this villa at least. Some near the front without views might not be as amazing but they are very well kept, cleaned daily and have great facilities. A car is a must as they are 5 minutes drive from town. A great base for some adventure travel and exploring.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sincly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We spent 3 nights here in March 2010 and were happy overall. The business is very well run – the cottages are well maintained and modern, with all the facilities you would need. There is excellent attention to detail e.g. changing the tea towel and dishcloth every day. The staff were really friendly and helpful – for example, they offered to hang out our washing when we left for the afternoon. The site is well laid out, and we appreciated the pleasant children’s playground. The location is also very nice, with good views from the property to the nearby mountains.

The site is 3km out of Franz Josef itself, but we saw that as an advantage – as the town could be busy and noisy in the middle of the day, with tour buses waiting for customers on the main street and helicopters taking off from the central airstrip every few minutes. (It was much more pleasant in the evening).

A few things to be aware of. Firstly, the site of Glenfern Villas is very close to the main road – we were okay as we had one of the back cottages, but other units might experience traffic noise. Secondly, these aren’t self-standing cottages (as I thought when booking), but two units in each building – so if you have noisy neighbours (as we did one evening), you might hear them. Finally, the units aren’t cheap (we paid $260 per night for a 2 bed cottage).

Overall we had a nice time and would probably go back. But worth bearing in mind the factors above.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at the Villas for 2 nights on our first real stop on our holiday in New Zealand. Found the rooms an excellent size with everything we needed in the kitchen area. The laundry was just across from our villa and we were able to keep on top of our washing very cheaply and easily. The villas are a little way out of town but probably all guests have some means of transport so it is not a problem. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

One of the nicest, child friendly places we stayed while in NZ. Rooms were very spacious and extremely clean. Outdoor play equipment for kids and plenty of grassed area. Beautiful mountain views and wonderfully welcoming staff. Extremely relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabeBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

This was our first away night on a 30 day trip to NZ so had no real idea what to expect..but we were very happy..comfortable and spacious...good and well equiped kitchen and bathroom...we went to the Glacier early in the morning and hardly anyone there...small niggle..they wanted to charge for WiFi...only place that wanted to charge..we would definitely recommend a stay there..very friendly people

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing