We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, wonderful views - wished I was stopping longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, wonderful views - wished I was stopping longer”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Received a lovely warm welcome when arrived and benefited from good local knowledge. Accommodation of a high standard and facilities great, with wonderful view from the living room. Would have really liked to have stayed longer but schedule didn't allow. Would have no hesitation in stopping here again. Free Wi-Fi an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbots_Langley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    178
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
128
308
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Glenfern Villa was a part of our New Zealand Itinerary and a beautiful property with wonderful hosts...

The property is a little away from the city centre(which is a cluster of 15 buildings in all) but is really locely with its beautiful cottages with sitting area outside. Each cottage is self sufficient with a kitchenette and has a large living room with a little cosy bedroom.

The hosts are extremely helpful and we had a great stay. Would recommend to all who are looking at Franz Josef as a part of the itineary. Incidentally I think nobody should miss Franz Josef in their NZ Itinerary

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuff-Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in April in a one bedroom villa. Our view off the back deck was wonderful. This area was very quiet and peaceful. Glenfern Villas is a bit out of the downtown area, so you will have to get in your car each time, but the drive is less than 5 minutes. We really enjoyed the full kitchen, large living area, separate bedroom and large bathroom. The staff is very helpful in booking activities for you. They call and book, then you pay the activity provider directly. They also provide menues to all the resturants in town, and maps for you to explore with.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSWTAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Villas. They were clean and comfortable, with a full kitchen. It is located just a short drive from center of Franz Josef, which is where the hikes and helicopter tours are based. We were only there for one night, but it was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgutz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We had a lovely relaxing two night stay at the Glenfern Villas while we visited the glacier near Franz Josef. We were very glad we stayed here rather than in the town, which was rather touristy and didn't have much character. Being out in the countryside made for a much more pleasant stay, and the villas are only a few minutes drive from the shops/restaurants and the glacier. Having our own little kitchen meant we could cook our own meals and we had a really spacious and light living area which we enjoyed spending time in recovering from our glacier hike! The manager/owner who helped us check in was really friendly and gave us some good advice about where to eat (and most importantly where not to eat!) in the town. He also gave us a choice of types of milk for our little kitchen, which was a nice touch. Overall, we'd recommend this as the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth+andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Glenfern Villas this month and had a packed time visiting glaciers, doing heli hikes and riding quad bikes. Glenfern was an excellnt base for the activities being a few kilometers out of town.

We stayed in a one bed villa (number 3) with beautiful views of the mountains. The villa was very clean (and serviced daily) and had all the facilities we needed. The site itself is adjacent to higway 6 and some villas face the highway, whilst not a busy road (we have not found any of these in New Zealand) I would suggest these villas should be avoided if possible.

All said and done I would definately stay again - my only gripe was having to pay for the (very slow) internet facilities which were provided free in all other locations in which we stayed in NZ

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Febbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed in two bedroom single bath apartment. The apartment was good,clean. Decent apartment for families with smal children. There is a play area which my son loved.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rensan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Property: Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing