We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The accomodation was comfortable and spacious with a separate bedroom and decent cooking facilities but we thought it was over-priced compared to other places we stayed on the south island.We understood the area could get quite busy in November so we booked well in advance via our UK travel agent.We certainly lost out on currency fluctuations but I'm sure we could have got a better deal direct with Glenfern or via a booking agency.There were also plenty of vacancy signs nearby.Certainly worth a try contacting them first before using your travel agent.
Our villa was near the road so sitting out on the decking was spoilt by noise from vehicles accelerating away from the narrow bridge on the way from town and there was not much of a view from it.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa away from the road,views are best from the other side of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 523 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

The weather was awful when we arrived. Raining hard. We were met at the reception by a guy, sorry do not have his name, but he gave us a very good welcome and showed us to our villa (he walked and we followed in the car).
He also gave us two free hours wifi and showed me how to make the maximum of the time on my. iPad. So easy when you know how.
We were very pleased with the villa. Well furnished, good quality TV, useful in the rain.
Bed very comfortable, one of the best we have had on our tour of New Zealand and better than many in more expensive hotels.
Good aircon and heating. Good walkin shower in bathroom.
Just ou,tide Franz Josef,but no problem with a car.
We stopped in villa 7 and very well satisfied.

Room Tip: Villa no 7 was very good. We stayed two nights and no complaints. Appreciated very good wifi connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but it was great. The guy who checked us in was lovely, there's DVDs you can borrow from reception he even have us a pint if milk I would definitely have liked to stay longer. The only negative was that the villa creaked ALOT during the night. We stayed during a rainstorm and it sounded haunted because if the door handles rattling so much! Other than than everything was perfect down to the lovely products in the shower.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clairesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the villas for one night as we were travelling north. The weather was awful, raining hard and it was great to be checked into a warm and comfy villa with a great heater. Check was good and dealt with a very helpful and friendly chap who talked us through the amenities at the complex, the room and then provided us with a map of town and recommended places to eat. The villa was a great size, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom a good size with powerful shower. We only wished we could have stayed longer. Very good stay and would recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Family of 3 visiting New Zealand for the first time. Staff were super nice and more than willing to accommodate. Cesar in particular checked weather & highway conditions upon checkout to make sure that we had safe travels. Our villa was perfect. Kitchen was very nice stocked. Bedrooms were comfortable. Short drive into town of Franz Josef. Loved the animals on the well-maintained property. Can't think of one bad thing to say about this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BearFam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were booked to stay 1 night on 21 September and were driving up from Queenstown en route to Greymouth and the Transalpine train. On arrival in Queenstown a few days before our scheduled stay we were informed that the road to Fox Glacier was closed (and had been closed for some days) at the Haast Pass due to an avalanche in which 2 people were killed. On the morning of the 21st our hotel in Queenstown checked the status of the road for us and we were informed that it was still closed.

I rang Glen Fern villas to tell them that we could not get there because of the road closure and was greeted by a rude and argumentative response where the man who answered the phone said the road was open and that we must try to drive through and that he would not accept a cancellation of the booking in the circumstances. Later that day I checked with a tourist information office and was informed that the road was still closed.

To date no refund or offer of compensation has been offered by Glen Fern villas or the agency ANZCRO who made the booking in Australia.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franzvillas, Owner at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Julie

As you booked through a travel agent rather than directly with us, any payment dispute should be handled through your travel agent.

In regards to the road openings, the New Zealand Transport Agency has been doing an excellent job in managing the slip the occurred and was opening the road safely for periods during most days while the slip settled down. We can only report to you the road status at the time of you call. The road has also been closing during the evenings while NZTA carry out remedial activity.

Cancellations policies are never popular. We have made ours as soft as possible i.e. cancellations within 48 hours of check-in time only incur a maximum of 1 nights charge. When we accept a booking, we have to hold that villa for the guest and cannot make it available to any other party. We also recommend to our guests that they take out travel insurance to ensure they have coverage in the unlikely event of their travel being disrupted in any way.

We hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand and do hope you have a chance to visit Glacier Country some time in the future.

Craig Rankin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at Glenfern Villas as part of our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. We were checked in by the friendly Cesar, who was very welcoming and helpful - a font of information and useful advice! Our 1 bedroom villa was right next to reception, which was really handy for quick queries, popping over to check the out the DVD library and utilising the laundry room. The villa itself was spacious, clean, comfortable and well kitted out, although we did have some trouble getting to grips with the key and how the lock worked. Being in the middle of the complex, we didn't have much of a view, but this didn't really matter as it was largely overcast with low cloud for the duration of our stay. We popped over to feed the goats and chickens (you can get bags of feed from reception), who were very receptive - the alpacas not so much, but we think they were wary of the cat skulking in the next field!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $149 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing