We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice warm accommodation, not luxurious.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent two nights at Glenfern Villas. It was a nice apartment space, kept clean and well maintained. Had a kitchen with sink, stove, oven, microwave, and fridge. The heating unit was amazing and really kept the place warm. The bathroom was huge, and had a large shower, but no door which I found odd. Our unit also had a car port that we could park out from under the rain. The reason I gave it a four over five stars is the value was a little less than I was expecting when I paid. A good place to spend the night, but if you are looking for something a little more luxurious or romantic, I would suggest elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_Munk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 541 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a one night stay for us. Cesar & Erika proved both efficient and very helpful, with recommendations on restaurants and the hot springs. Our studio appartment suited our needs with a very comfortable bed and a modern bathroom and a kitchen and lounge/diner. There is a laundry facility on site, a blessing in the middle of our trip through South Island. The option of a continental breakfast offered a number of choices and your choice was delivered to your door in a box for storage in the refridgerator overnight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just spent 4 days at Glenfern Villas. What an absolute pleasure. The accommodation is modern, well equipped and the scenery breathtaking. The staff are very friendly and there is also a small pets corner for kids to enjoy.

The villas are situated a few minutes out of Franz Josef but that is not detrimental in fact we found it a bonus because of the beautiful location. This really is the best accommodation we have had so far during our tour of New Zealand and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Glenfern villas were v spacious and fully equipped ...with beautiful views and quiet surroundings it was a pleasant stay....thanx to Caesar who made our stay v comfortable and helped us a lot .....I surely recommend it though it is little on d outskirts of franz josef but not so far .....v quiet and beautifully surrounded wid mountains clouds n farm as well...room was v warm....kitchen properly equipped....n d family sitting room was v big wid awesome views....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gargi_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a 1 night stay here as part of a fly drive. It is outside the very quiet village so don't expect late nights. Check in very efficient and helpful. The room, with full cooking facilities was very good and clean. Bed was lovely. DVD player available.

Would recommend it

Wireless internet available so a chance to relax as places in town close early evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is really self catering rather than lodge or B and B although they did prepare a more than adequate breakfast basket each evening for the following day. The units consist of a large lounge kitchen area with adjacent bedroom and bathroom. They are nicely furnished and very comfortable with t.v and DVD player, DVDs can be borrowed from reception...they ned up dated though ! Very small point.

The manager and manageress an Argentinian couple could not do more or be more helpfull, they advised on restuarants and activities ensured we were comfortable and very concerned at no fault of their own when we forgot to order breakfast.

The property is situated just outside of Franz Joseph, where all the restaurants are,but its no more than two minutes away by car.

We would recommend this property for a short stay but it would serve even better for longer stays because of the self catering facilities

Room Tip: Chose one at the rear with views of the mountains away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went to Franz Josef for a heli-hike and stayed at Glenfern Villas. This is a lovely location convenient to the town just a few minutes away by car. At first sight the villas look plain and uninspiring, but once you open the door, what a surprise! Inside they are stylishly decorated, fully equipped and extremely comfortable. The downstairs is spacious and airy due to the open plan layout and very high ceiling. There was a well equipped kitchen area, and a lovely bathroom and bedroom. Upstairs another beautifully decorated bedroom. There's also an outside sitting area with table and chairs. Due to the inclement weather we stayed for 2 nights and the villa completely suited our needs. We were able to relax, watch tv, catch up on washing and go into town to eat in the evening. The staff were very friendly and we were provided with tea, coffee and milk. Nothing was too much bother for them. This is superior accommodation at affordable prices. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the villas are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NELLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
715 reviews
1.5 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Villas Franz Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $140 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glenfern Villas Franz Josef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenfern Villas Franz Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Hotel Franz Josef
Glenfern Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing