We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation in Franz Josef”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is constantly achieving high scores on Trip Advisor and well deserved. Large spacious log cabins, fantastic service and a big log fire to unwind with a glass of wine in the main lodge.

This is a premier b & b just a short walk ( 15 mins ) from bars and restaurants. Very comfortable, tons of room, big luxury walk in showers.

Recommend the heli hike to the glacier.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

We spent two nights here in February. After a long drive from Kaiteriteri, we landed at the Westwood where we had reserved a coach house suite. From the outside, the lodge resembles a motel. The lodge is right on a state highway; the noise when outside is really obnoxious. The location is about 2 miles from town. Just far enough that we did not want to walk. Check in went fine with good advice about dining in town. The manager called and made reservations for us. The room is just as it looks on their website. Access to the internet was our biggest hassle. We were given 30 minutes gratis. Then the minutes were doled out at an extra cost. And everytime we ran out, one of us had to go to the office to get a new password and user ID. Got pretty frustrating. We would have preferred a set rate per day for unlimited use. We probably would look for a different place to stay if we returned to Franz Josef Glacier.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountainwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Spent the last 2 nights of an 8 week tour of Australia & NZ here. Just what we needed before setting off back to the UK. THe lodge is very well located only 5 mins from the FZ township. We stayed in a superior room with large bedroom, luxurious bathroom & sitting area which overlooked the lovely gardens. So peaceful. Warm welcome & lovely freshly cooked breakfast. We made the most of the lovely accommodation by buying a picnic supper & bottle of Pinot Noir on both evenings - so nice not to have to go & find somewhere to eat.

Expensive but worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed 2 nights 27/28 November 2009. The hotel is about 1km north of Franz Josef. It is a modern wooden place with a main building and six rooms in an annex. There is plenty of free parking. Check in was swift and Kaz the manager, showed us our room, in the annex known as the Coach House. It was large with two beds and loads of living space. Tea and coffee making facilities, although there was always tea and coffee in the main house. The views from the room were stunning, though unfortunately when we were there, it was cloudy and we never saw the glacier from the hotel.
The bathroom was more of a wet room with a huge shower, his and hers sinks and plenty of space to put your things. Breakfast was in the main house and at one large table but was never crowded. The food appeared to be cooked to order. There was always juice, and a choice of hot food.
There is large lounge with a huge fire and we sat there twice with drinks (which were a bit expensive) and chatted to other guests or Kat. There was also a full sized billiard table available. Our room was close to the road, but although we heard some traffic it wasn't a problem at night. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Really good breakfast, Large room. Nice bathroom. Over-priced (Like all of Franz Joseph). Good bed, nice fire in reception area. Nice touch with the cookies. Please note that the score is in comparison to 14 other hotels/B&Bs we stayed in during a 3 week trip to NZ

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Franz Josef. The place does not like much from the outside, but is a real treat inside. the Lodge looks like a log cabin. We really appreciated the wooden design. The rooms have all modern amenities, and a very comfortable bathroom. the Lodge is located less than a 10 min walk from the center of Franz Joseph (the whole center is only one street). There are a few good restaurants and bars in town.
We ate breakfast at the lodge, which was prepared by the hostess.

While in town, we did the heli trip over the glacier, with a snow landing. it was amazing!!!
We were going to do the heli hike, but it was cancelled due to bad weather.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ekartash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed in Westwood Lodge for one night during the winter season. Despite the terrific location near to Franz Josef, there were some inconsistencies during our brief stay. Our room was of a good size and was generally well appointed, but the bathroom heating system was switched off upon our arrival, with in-room instructions confirming that the system was controlled by reception, which then led us to make two phone calls (one of which was not answered) in order to organise bathroom heating. Our in room DVD player did not appear to work despite a number of intelligent attempts to get the player to work (this was not reported to reception, as this incident occurred after reception hours had ended for the evening). Breakfast was of a decent standard, but overall we felt a little as if we were causing our host inconvenience by showing up in the first place; this was partially confirmed when our host semi-complained to us regarding her early rise that morning to come in and cook our breakfast – never, ever, moan to a guest about your morning start time – it is your job! Given that there is at least some competition in the area for quality accommodation, we would probably stay elsewhere in Franz Josef during a future visit, although we did find our room comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank warrenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.9 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Address: Rapid Number 2919 State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range: $225 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing