We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Host! Great Rooms! Great Dog!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our party of six spent 2 nights at Westwood. The staff and owner were extremely accommodating and answered all of our crazy questions about life and customs in New Zealand. The rooms were fantastic--contemporary bathrooms, nice linens, large space and outdoor sitting areas. Their dog (Bronson) was such a pleasure and warm addition to the hospitality.

Great place to explore the glaciers!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood0112, Owner at Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your review of Westwood Lodge.

It was indeed a pleasure to have accommodated your group and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that you, Georgia and friends enjoyed Akaroa, (hopefully the weather was a little more compliant...) as well as a wonderful over all experience here in Aotearoa, New Zealand.

We wish you all a safe journey home and continued happy travels in the future.

Warm regards,

Muri, Kaz & Benson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed only one night and were the only guests but Kaz was very welcoming and helpful. The dining and communal area is beautiful and I wish we had more time to appreciate it. There is glimpse of the glacier from the dining area. There was a full size billiard table which we didn't get to use but looks fantastic. The whole facility looked brand new and was beautifully maintained. The room was great, lots of wood, very comfortable, free wifi, loan DVDs etc. Breakfast was extravagant and delicious and the cooked course was made to order even though we were the only 2 guests. Really faultless and although not the cheapest place in Franz Josef was well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Magnificent views and very nice accommodation. The owner and staff were very helpful and courteous. Benson the Labradoodle was also very cute. Breakfast was cooked fresh and very tasty. Close to everything . Would stay again and recommend to couples. Not suitable for families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriellew463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in room 7 in early March and were not disappointed on any front. Spacious, clean, comfortable suite and Kaz and her staff's attention to detail was not unnoticed. Lovely bathroom with walk-in shower and a roll top bath to soak away those hiking pains. Good breakfast. Relaxing in the sun on the decking in the afternoon after heli-hiking or walking to and from the glacier in the morning was most welcome. If you don't have your own transport, it's a 15 minute walk to town but being in a quiet location was a plus point for us.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 get the sun on the decking in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived at Westwood Lodge as part of a whirlwind tour of NZ. Most places we had stayed in had been really good, but this was something else. Our room had separate lounge, large king size bed, super bathroom all with views overlooking Glacier. It was lovely. Such a shame we only stayed for one night. Even the fact that it poured with rain did not take anything away from our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We loved our two nights in a coach house at the Westwood Lodge. The views are stunning from room number 6, the room is spacious and well appointed and clean. The cooked to order breakfast is amongst the best of any B&B, and the staff are helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. The stay was really superb as a result of a collection of attributes. Would stay here again and would recommend anyone passing through the glacier area consider this amongst your top choices.

Room Tip: Coach House 6 has the best views of the mountains and the glacier (on a clear day!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMEMBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Westwood Lodge. We enjoyed the breakfasts, conversations with other guests, and watching movies borrowed from the living area. The king bed was warm and comfortable. Plenty of storage space for luggage, and a little patio for sitting or letting boots air outside. The receptionist is extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.8 mi away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Address: Rapid Number 2919 State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range: $210 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing