We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, very comfortable and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holly Homestead B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed on 24th December and had a lovely time. Bernie made us feel very welcome when we arrived, with plenty of good advice about the area, maps etc. We even had Christmas stockings hanging from our doors when we got up on Christmas day! Another nice touch is an itinerary sheet when you leave with hints and tips about where to stop on the way to the next stop.

Rooms are very comfortable and spacious, with an excellent quality bed and pillows (5* hotel standard) - very rare for B&B accommodation where beds can be too springy or too small.

The breakfast is also excellent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jono_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 235 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2008

Holly Homestead is all that can be asked for in the B&B market, from the moment you arrive you are made to feel special by Bernie & Gerard, and that you are their number one priority. They take the time to sit down with you over relaxing afternoon tea or coffee and discuss the wonderful accomodation that they are providing and also point out all of the things to see and do while you visit this special corner of New Zealand. They are also very helpful in recommending local restaurants or bistros for your evening meal. The comfort of the wonderful old two storey villa is just supurb, from the bedrooms with great ensuites, to the dining room (which adjoins the open plan kitchen) and lounge, you are really made to feel at home (their attention to detail makes a huge difference to the enjoyment of your stay). Gerard provides a sumptuous hot breakfast that he takes the time to explain to each guest before cooking it for you. You are also able to help yourself from the generous buffet of cold selections that are on offer, there is no better way to start your day with this leisurely breakfast, chatting to the other guests from diverse countries, around Bernie and Gerard's lovely large dining table - all the while enjoying the spectacular view of the snow topped Southern Alps. Holly Homestead is not a place that the discerning traveller should go past without stopping to enjoy at their leisure!

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank MacnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Bernie, the host, was extremely proactive and helpful in terms of activities and restaurant choices. Even though we experienced terrible weather which prevented us from taking advantage of any excursion, we still enjoyed our stay, because of her warmth and hospitality. The room is comfortable and her husband makes a good breakfast. Bernie will also do laundry for a small fee.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JoycePeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

A real luxury to stay here, gorgeous bathroom, super toiletries, huge room, comfy bed. The drawbacks were that we were the only guests and that it's a long walk to get to restaurants. Not so bad if it's not pouring with rain, but I guess that's unusual in these parts.
We wished we had more than one night here anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We found Holly Homestead after finding it on Trip Advisor. We were looking forsomething that was not right in the middle of town but was easily accessible. HH is approximately a minute or two drive in and this is an easy enough walk in daylight.

HH is a lovely period building. We were greeted by Janet on arrival and informed that we had been upgraded to their suite. It was a fabulous room with a gorgeous roll top bath. There were so many little touches that really made this b & b special. The sunset from the room was also spectacular.

There was a good choice for breakfast and it was nice being able to chat with other guests in the big farmhouse kitchen.

Janet had great local knowledge and recommended a glacier walk that was just right for us. She also recommended some places to visit on our onward journey too and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed at the Holly Homestead for 2 nights and would definitely return.

Bernie welcomed us and spent time going through what was on offer in the Glacier area. She had menus for all the major eateries.

The house is charming and is a credit to Bernie and Gerard. Gerard personally cooks the breakfasts which are eaten around a large table so you can chat to the other guests.

Our room was comfortable and the bathroom had a large shower, and one of the old claw baths plus what appeared to be an antique copper tank (we later saw a similar one in Larnach Castle!)

A wonderful place to stay with great hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

I recently sent an email request to Holly Homestead asking if they would offer "airline industry rate" for our stay.

I was shocked by the angry response I received from the owners.

It was a very personal, hurtful attack against ALL airline employees when a simple "we do not offer industry rate" would have been suitable.

Lets hope it isn't an indication of customer service they offer to guests when they arrive and realise they are from the airline industry!

BEWARE!!

Stayed: January 2008
Thank Mark77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GandB42, Owners at Holly Homestead B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2008

We would like to respond to Mark’s review. The heading that we “don’t like airline staff” is absolutely false and we take exception to that.

Firstly, we would like to apologise to any airline staff that we may have upset.

Unfortunately we are unable to offer discounts to airline staff as some of the larger hotel chains can. We are independent owner/operators of a small accommodation establishment dependent on business in the high season for our livelihood.

We love hosting and meeting people from all over the world and our guests tell us they have had a great stay with us in our lovely character home and enjoyed our hearty breakfast while admiring the spectacular view from the breakfast table ….. clouds permitting of course!!!

Gerard & Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Homestead B&B

Address: 2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range: $200 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holly Homestead B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B : This colonial homestead whispers history. Originally constructed from beautiful native timber in 1926, now tenderly refurbished staying true to the Arts & Crafts style of architecture. Start your day early with a panoramic view of the Franz Josef neve from the breakfast table. Go exploring at your own pace and come home to a glacial sunset, a glass of port in the guest lounge and a welcoming bed. Age restriction: children 12+ welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Holly Homestead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing