We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifully restored house, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly Homestead B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we spent 2 nights here in dec, to do our heli-hike on franz josef. host bernie was gentle, comprehensive and lovely to chat with, and gerard cooked one of the best breakfasts we had in our 3 week stay. house was authentic and beautifully restored and we had one of the most charming and pretty bathrooms with wonderful daylight and pretty fixtures on the wooden floor. (room 3). dining area was generously sized and lovely to talk with other guests. road noise was a little loud but the earplugs helped.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bonniesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 231 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Holly Homestead and were treated so warmly and kindly by the hosts Bernie & Gerard we felt that we were best friends by the time we left. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were excellent clean and welcoming with fresh fruit and other amenities provided. This was like a 5 star hotel with personal service. On arrival we were cheerily greeted by Bernie and given lots of ideas and information on the area with activities to suit our length of stay and the weather. On our last day we went on a wonderful walk which Bernie told us about and we have been left with wonderful memories of our stay in Franz Josef. I accidentally left a small jacket behind which was kindly posted back to the UK for me as well. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: We had the big suite on the first floor which was a lovely room with a sitting room and lovely bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyous_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We arrived mid afternoon and Bernie was there on the spot to offer us a warm welcome. Bernie insisted in carrying up one of our bags as well. The help Bernie offered in explaining the location where we were staying was informative and helpful. We stayed in the Superior Room 2. The room was outstanding in every aspect and exceeded all of our expectations. It was spacious, comfortable with all the mod cons and just as importantly it was quiet as well! Our breakfast which was prepared by both Gerard and Bernie was delicious. We truly felt at home in this fine establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Personally welcomed by hostess. Afternoon snacks and wine, tips on sightseeing - sunset at Tasman sea, small park to look for Glow Worms.
Given choice of rooms at same price, excellent breakfast. Only place in New Zealand where we had internet access - tablet provided. Hostess turned out lights for star viewing when we returned after dark. She gave us a map and suggestions for route next day to train at Greymouth. The couple who own and live here have lovingly restored this home and go out of their way to make visitors feel welcome. Cost a little more than nearby hotels - but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polka-Dot-Umbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very nice host - delicious breakfast. Perfectly located to explore the surrounding.
Very cosy room - we had the big room on the first floor. Made on old style but with new
technic.
We had a very warm welcome and a host who help us to made our stay perfect.

Room Tip: It was on the first floor on left site (to the street) - but as their is not too many traffic this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Thank you again to the nice couple who runs this establishment. Our hostess went out of her way to help us make plans with local tours, restaurants and even hotel suggestions for the next town over.

The B&B is a nice location. The rooms were recently renovated and very nice for a BB.

Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Thank you Holly Homestead for yet another amazing B&B experience! My mom and I were on holiday celebrating my birthday and enjoying numerous areas of New Zealand. Franz Josef and Holly Homestead did not disappoint! From the moment we arrived Bernie was so helpful in getting my long awaited heli-hike planned for the next day. We weren't sure if the message was received at Franz Josef Glacier Guiding operation that I needed a pick up in the morning but Bernie took care of that and made contact with them. It was so nice not to have to worry and wonder! And when the they accidently went to pick me up at the wrong place, Bernie without hesitation drove me to where I needed to be. That is the kind of care and hospitality that makes a B&B stand out. Most appreciated!

Not only did Bernie offer numerous options and suggestions, she provided terrific recommendations on where to eat. Great meals at both Alice May Restaurant and the Landing! Speaking of food...breakfasts were terrific! Gerard was in charge of those and did a fabulous job. Loved Holly Homestead and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
682 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.0 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Homestead B&B

Address: 2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range: $183 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holly Homestead B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B : This colonial homestead whispers history. Originally constructed from beautiful native timber in 1926, now tenderly refurbished staying true to the Arts & Crafts style of architecture. Start your day early with a panoramic view of the Franz Josef neve from the breakfast table. Go exploring at your own pace and come home to a glacial sunset, a glass of port in the guest lounge and a welcoming bed. Age restriction: children 12+ welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Holly Homestead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing