We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holly Homestead B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Franz Josef B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Most professional b + b I have been in! Hosts lovely and friendly and full of useful info. Very welcoming and most beautiful rooms really worth staying here! Bernie welcomed us with drinks and nibbles and even made me a coffee at night. Gave us the rundown on local restaurants with menus and have brochures on everything. 10 out of 10 on all fronts

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozmaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    28
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
182
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We only had one night here while visiting the glaciers on our way down the west coast but it was a very good experience. The property has much more character than it appears from outside and the guest lounge (with free port) was very comfortable. Very welcoming hosts and generous breakfasts.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at holly homestead for 2 nights on our trip to NZ. We stayed in a number of very good establishments but this was by far the best, in terms of quality of rooms, service and attention to detail. Nothing is too much for Bernie, the host, to make sure that your stay is comfortable and welcoming. She is very knowledgable about the local area and happy to share this with the guests to make the best of your time in the area. The breakfasts are awesome, and Gerard's cooked breakfast is great. Both Bernie and Gerard are outstanding hosts and I would certainly highly recommend staying here. holly homstead is a truly amazing B&B, one of the best on the south island.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our three night stay exceeded our expectations in every way. Bernie is a warm and attentive host. The house is beautiful - combining historic interest with modern amenities. We wanted to be up and out early (before sunrise) and back late, and that was no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were welcomed by Bernie as we arrived! Bernie was a terrific host and provided us with a welcome drink on arrival and plenty of information on the local restaurants. After arriving back from dinner the complimentary port in the communal lounge went down very well.

The bed was very comfy and the bathroom luxurious. Gerard cooked a great dish of the day for breakfast. We so enjoyed their friendly hospitality and were impressed that they even covered our car overnight to avoid those icey windows the next morning when it was such a hard frost. They went out of their way to ensure we had a great a stay so we really do highly recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty impressive but we especially enjoyed the upstairs king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebstersonWanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

After driving down the coast from Greymouth, we were given a warm welcome by Bernie, who is both no-nonsense and charming at the same time, and spent a wonderfully relaxing two days, hoping for the weather to clear so we could take our heli trip onto the Franz Josef glacier. Unfortunately, that didn't happen, but we had a great time at a great B&B, regardless.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at HH enroute to Queenstown for one night. We were upgraded since there was just one more family staying during that time. Bernie was very warm & welcoming and showed us to our rooms. This was followed by a round of coffee and baked goodies around the fireplace, as she helped us choose the restaurants that we could consider for the night. As with every cozy B&B, you do have a feeling that you are staying at someone's house, so you may feel slightly inhibited. But i suppose a couple of nights there, and you should be more at home. Breakfast next morning was very nice, with Bernie's husband doing the cooking. He was unusually quiet though. The room (suite, since we were upgraded) is warm, well done and lovely, and the bathroom has heated flooring which is welcome on a wintery night. There are goodies in the fridge, along with fresh milk for coffee/tea. Overall, pleasant stay but on the pricey side

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank apso0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Homestead B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Homestead B&B

Property: Holly Homestead B&B
Address: 2900 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holly Homestead B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B : This colonial homestead whispers history. Originally constructed from beautiful native timber in 1926, now tenderly refurbished staying true to the Arts & Crafts style of architecture. Start your day early with a panoramic view of the Franz Josef neve from the breakfast table. Go exploring at your own pace and come home to a glacial sunset, a glass of port in the guest lounge and a welcoming bed. Age restriction: children 12+ welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holly Homestead B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing