We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Franz Josef Oasis(Franz Josef)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$108
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$90
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$79
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge(Franz Josef)(Great Value!)
$72
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveler rating
253
300
135
49
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
300
135
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelnew zealandbreakfast buffet isfirst floorlamb shankthe ground floormain buildingopen firesmall towncomfortable bedswildlife centrein towngood sizestayed here for one nightroom was largefree wifibad weather
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 759 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great hotel and you can't beat the location! Situated right off the main street and within a quick walk to any of the activities and restaurants in the town. The room was clean and well appointed with a comfortable bed and patio to relax on in the evenings. The friendly staff went above and beyond, dropping off a bottle of wine and a birthday card for my birthday, even though I never mentioned it was my birthday. Will stay here again whenever I visit the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petro008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear petro088,

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed making your special day a bit more special for you and hope we will be able to welcome you back some day soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Traveling through New Zealand with 2 kids I booked 'A Standard Three Singles Bed'. This was one of the best rooms we had during our trip! Spacious, clean, quiet. Furthermore a beautiful hotel with an Alpine atmosphere. Coming from Europe we felt at home! As there was no one in the restaurant (mid July seems not be the peak season) we decided to dine elsewhere.
Staying at the this hotel was a pleasure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Henry W,

And it was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us. Our ultimate aim is to look after each guest in the best possible way so they ‘feel home away from home’. In your case it looks like we have lived up to our aim what is wonderful!

Please stay in touch and we are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully not so distant future.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great hotel. Our room was lovely with probably the comfiest bed we had in N.Z. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious. We only had one night here but managed to go to the wildlife park opposite to see kiwis in the nocturnal house and after our lovely dinner strolled to the Glacier Thermal Pools for an hour or two to finish off the evening. We were lucky the weather allowed us to take the helicopter ride to the glaciers the next morning. As part of a tour group we couldn't stay here longer on this trip but if you have flexibility, stay a bit longer as you may need to wait for the right weather for the helicopter flights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev and Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Bev and Phil M,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
It was good to see that you made the most of your time in Franz Josef Glacier and explored a number of activities we have on offer. The Glacier Hot Pool and the Wildlife Centre are definitely worth a visit and some of the highlight attractions we like to recommend to our guests as they.

Thank you for staying at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier and we hope that you visit again.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Pity we stayed for just a night on May27.
The place is remote and in a small township on the base of the glacier.
Rooms were large and spacious.
The good room heating made it very cozy.
The property is well spread out and being a small place , everything u need is a stone's throw away.
Loved the cozy fireplace in the lobby.
Breakfast was good and had variety.
Staff helpful!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank avranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear avranga,

It was a pity that you have only stayed for one night but I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. As you know, Franz Josef and the Glacier Country region have a huge variety on activities on offer and one day is most likely not enough to explore it all.

However, it was good to have you staying with us. Please stay in touch.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Looks great from outside, in some ways though I was a little unimpressed. Our room was 35, it was very smelly on arrival, I found this due to a faulty and stinking kettle, once changed the problem went away. The bathroom was nice but small and on arrival there was a razor blade on the floor - not good. Beds very comfortable indeed, food very good, service great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for sending us your feedback.
I am really apologetic that we have provided you with a faulty kettle in your guest room. We aim to check all appliances before guest check-in to ensure guests have an enjoyable time. Unfortunately, in your case we have missed a few things. Once again, please accept my apologies.

Thank you for positively mentioning the quality of our beds, the food offerings in our restaurant and the great service you have experienced. It is apperceived.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews