We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from a Travel Agent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my one night here while touring the South Island on a business trip.
The rooms were a good size, clean and the restaurant was really good.
I loved how it was walking distance to the thermal pools!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgent604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear TravelAgent604,

Thank you for your kind review. And I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel and the spectacular Glacier Country in the near future. -Maybe next time on a leisure trip.

Safe travels!

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 662 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a night stay and would love to stay longer!
Room: cosy and very clean. We are impressed with the squeaky clean toilet. However the room was pretty small and especially the toilet. But we valued the cosiness and the cleanliness of the room and so the size did not bother us much. Also, it will be good if the bed could warm up as it get pretty cold during our visit in autumn (there is heater in the room, but a warmed bed would be better)
Service: staff are friendly.
Breakfast spread: the spread was decent.
Overall: recommended for stay during visit to franz Josef!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PF-funnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear PF-funnie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. We would have liked to see you stay longer. -In the matter of facts, we recommend that guests plan to stay at least 2 days in Franz Josef Glacier as a huge variety of activities is on offer. One day is in most cases not enough ‘to see it all’.

The hotel was completely refurbished in 2012. All rooms have been made up to provide travellers with a quality accommodation option in one of the most stunning regions New Zealand has to offer.

Once again, thank you for your review and please stay in touch.
We look forward to your next visit in the hopefully not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here as part of a group. Had a really great, spacious room with a sliding door opening on to a balcony with fabulous view. Had a mix up and received someone's else luggage as well as mine. As soon as I rang reception to advise, 2 happy, friendly young guys turned up to collect the suitcase and deliver it to the right guest. The whole atmosphere of the place was that everyone was having a good time. I can imagine that during the skiing season, young people must have a wonderful time staying there. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. We only had an overnight in Franz Josef but would love to go back and spend more time exploring the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear roselilycat,

Pleasing to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
The Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier is positioned in central location in town and most activities are only a short walk away. However, guests can still enjoy beautiful panorama views right from their room.
You have stayed in one of our superior rooms. These rooms are really popular by our guests as they offer more space and an own private balcony or terrace. Perfect for the more concerning traveller.
Thank you for mentioning the positive service you have received from our team. It is recognition like yours that makes it worth to go the extra mile for our guests.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next travel to the Glacier Country.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed 1 night in room 306 - Very large room with great comforters on both beds, fully stocked minibar, tea/coffee service, really big TV, wonderful bath with set-in glass shower, fluffy towels and a wide selection of complimentary toiletries.

So why am I rating it only average? Because across the parking lot from this room is a backpacker's place blaring dance music, with the bass loud and clear even with windows shut tight.

I'd stay here again if I had a room facing away from the parking lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Retirada,

Please accept my apologies for the noise disturbance that you have experienced during your time in Franz Josef Glacier.
I am disappointed that we failed to provide you with the pease and quite you deserve as our guest.

The matter has since been brought to the attention of the Westland District Council and I trust that appropriate steps will be taken against the business that was responsible for the noise disturbance that night.

If you ever plan to visit Franz Josef Glacier again please do get in contact with me so I can ensure that your next visit will be on a more positive note. We do care about our guests and so do most of the business operators in town.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a part of a surprise 3 day get away for my partner and myself so that I could pop the question!!! We unfortunately were held up on our travels and could only spend one of the two nights booked!!! I could have stayed a lot longer!!
The manager Rosie (hope I got that right!!) was truly amazing in making this one of the most memorable weekends ever. She and the wonderful staff helped organise a bottle of Dom Perignon (2004) and upgraded our room so that after I proposed on the top of the glacier, we were met by a truly stunning room!! Even down to the flower petal arrangement on the bed of our initials in a heart!!
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to any of our friends and we both look forward to returning again to take in more of the beauty that the South Island and Franz Josef have to offer!!
Thank you again Rosie and all your staff, you went above and beyond to make our stay truly special!!!
.....and she said yes!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Adam B,

We are so happy for you and your fiancée and thank you for allowing us to be part of this great occasion. I am sure you will keep us in good memory and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel some day soon. Maybe on your honeymoon?!

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night and hotel is located in the centre of town. Hotel staff were very friendly. Rooms were modern with new bathrooms, bathrooms were a bit small but could not complain, we were very impressed with with this hotel.Hotel has great view of the glaziers and peaks.and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear donny15,

Thank you for your positive mentioning of our Hotel on TripAdvsior.com.
It was great to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the hopefully not so distant future.

Best Regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Was a pretty good hotel for its location, service was excellent, food was very good.
We had a newly renovated room and were impressed, great shower. Good bed. And reasonably quiet. Nice views too.
Nice big tv, room was a real nice set up. Rosy was great at our check in, very helpful and friendly.
We were given a late check out which was nice too.
Lobby atmosphere very nice with a actual real fire their rather than those gas ones.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarrodpercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear jarrodpercival,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvsior.com.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier and the service extended to you by Rosie. Rosie is a true hospitality professional that loves to look after guests that visit our hotel and our beautiful Glacier Country. She will be really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,410 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#9 of 13 in Franz Josef
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $150 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing