We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Franz Josef
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pre-booked 2 rooms from the UK. Our initial impression on arriving at the hotel was good. The receptionist was lovely, cheerful and very helpful. Sadly our rooms in the Graham Wing did not live up to our initial impressions. Despite having recently had a soft refurbishment the rooms are dated and slightly grubby. There is no noise insulation at all so we were disturbed by noise from adjacent rooms and the corridor. We were woken up early by the coach outside our room starting up and running its engine an hour before it eventually left the hotel. The bathrooms are awful and would probably be more at home in a caravan. We would have moved rooms and paid for an upgrade to the Douglas Wing but there was no availability. Having already paid for the rooms in advance we were reluctant to move on especially as it was the holiday season we thought it was unlikely we would get availability elsewhere. On the plus side the breakfast was good. Would not want to return.

Room Tip: Book rooms in Douglas Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 925KitC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear 925KitC,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room you stayed in has not meet your expectations and that we were unable to resolve the situation with moving you to a superior room. I understand that rooms in our Graham wing (standard category) offer less space than rooms in our Douglas wing (superior category). However, all rooms have been refurbished only 18 months ago and offer the same level of service to our guests. I would certainly not describe them as ‘dated and slightly grubby’.
This time of the year it is really busy around town with lots of tourists like yourself visiting Franz Josef Glacier. The only negative about having so many visitors in town is that the noise level has gone up. Unfortunately, sometimes this can have a negative influence on what was meant to be relaxing stay.
I do apologise for the inconvenience this has caused to you and can guarantee you that we do what we can to keep the external noise to a minimum for our guests.

Thank you for positively mentioning the great guest service you have received from our team and that you have enjoyed our breakfast offering.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 647 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spotted the Scenic first when we arrived in Franz Josef and decided to stay there for two nights. The room was lovely, the staff were very helpful, especially Rosie at the reception desk. She was great. We would highly recommend this hotel. They even sorted out a helicopter ride for us over the glaciers and Mt Cook. Go there - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatDan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear PatDan82,

Thank you for staying at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier and for posting your review on TripAdvsior.com. I have already shared your feedback with Rosie at reception.
If you ever decide to visit the Glacier Country again we would love to have you staying with us for a second time.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is definitely the best place to stay while you are at Franz Josef. Very friendly and warm staff. Best view. Good place for vegetarians. The hot pools are just adjacent making it very convenient...

Room Tip: You need to check on the room as per your requirements. Choose a better room for a better view or be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyahGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear PriyahGG,

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is always good to receive recognition for all the hard work we put in to look after our valuable guests.

Please consider to post a review of your experience in our Glasshouse Restaurant at its own TripAdvisor page.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I arrived in Franz Josef at 5 o'clock at night without booking a hotel, hoping to find a good and reasonable hotel, but I instead found that the scenic hotel had the last room available in the whole town, where the price of the room was at least double the money I thought. The room was small but clean. The bathroom was a little bit old and the mattress where i was sleeping was bent diagonally and i fell of my bed a couple of times. For a Scenic hotel i found it uncomfortable and not at its standards. I would not comeback in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Masi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Masi2014,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.com.
I am pleased to see that we were able to accommodate you at our hotel in December.
As you say the demand for spending a night in Franz Josef Glacier or the Glacier Country is really high. Lots of accommodation providers are fully booked well in advance and it can be quite difficult to find last minute accommodation on the day. I am therefore especially happy that we were able to accommodate you, even if the size of the room was maybe not meeting your expectations this time.

We would love to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a long journey to Franz Josef from Christchurch in the torrential rain but when we got here the lovely receptionist told me we had been upgraded to their Te Waonui Rain Forest Resort just down he road so I rate this hotel group the highest - they made our day. And I will write a separate re for the Te Waonui!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank 99PeterN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear 99PeterN,

Thank you for letting us know that you appreciate the complimentary upgrade to our sister property, the Te Waonui Forest Retreat.

Our aim is to enhance the overall guest experience and it looks like that in your case we have achieved what we desire. –Not saying that your stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier would have been less enjoyable, though! ;)

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived very wet after an ordinary bike ride from Queenstown. Staff were excellent and helpful given we were dripping water everywhere. The room was disappointingly small with a very small bathroom and the hotel has no drying room, a problem for us with our wet gear and surprising for a hotel in an area renowned for wet weather and snow activities. The bed was uncomfortable and the room could have been cleaner. We had breakfast included and the staff made a special effort for Christmas Day with bon bons provided. The hotel is obviously popular with tour groups and we had three bus loads when we stayed. The bus engines being started and idling at 7am was not appreciated. We had this hotel chosen by our tour operator which had, up until this one, been very good. Not sure what the choice in surrounding accommodation is like but I would look around before I stayed here again. That said, the wonderful staff made an average hotel experience much more acceptable.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are better rooms but ours was ordinary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear JeffnKaz,

Thank you for sending us your feedback. And thank you for your kind mentioning of our staff that work extremely hard to look after our guests in the best possible and personal way. You have stayed in our Graham wing that houses our ‘standard rooms’. Our standard rooms have been soft refurbished only 18 months ago and the guest feedback is generally really good. However, these rooms are probably not the best fit for guests that travel with lots of accessories (e.g. motorbike gear) as space is limited. For guests that require more space we offer different room categories and I invite you to view the Scenic Hotel Website for more details in this regards. The website further states all facilities that guests can expected when staying at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. Something that I recommend to view before making a booking as it can avoid disappointment in the end.
I am really sorry that your night rest was interrupted by engine noise, something I will certainly look into to avoid similar disappointment for future guests.

Warm regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

One of the best (two) nights' sleep I've ever had...the beds are so comfy with thick mattress toppers and great pillows. The room and ensuite were great, really quiet, well equipped with a lovely balcony and a superb view of the glacier. I also like being able to park right outside especially if its raining (which it does a lot of on the west coast). There are friendly, helpful staff There's a lively bar with a good atmosphere, the Landing, almost next door, and lots of restaurants very close. The heli field for glacier trips is right opposite.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank HampshireBaggin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear HampshireBaggin... B,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.com. It is so rewarding to see that families enjoy our hotel and the comfort it offers. Feedback like yours makes me hope that we soon will be rewarded with another star on TripAdvisor.com. That would be fantastic!

Once again, thank you and please stay in touch.

Warm Regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Address: 36 Main Rd | Off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Price Range: $124 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Josef Glacier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing