We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Retreat(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Terrace Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
10 Cottages(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
58 On Cron Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glacier View Motel(Franz Josef)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveler rating
249
298
133
49
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
298
133
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelnew zealandbreakfast buffet isfirst floorlamb shankthe ground floormain buildingopen firesmall towncomfortable bedswildlife centrein towngood sizestayed here for one nightroom was largefree wifibad weather
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 751 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the scenic hotel Franz Josef for one night December. We purchased a deal that gave us credit to be used in the hotel restaurant and a free bottle of wine. We arrived at approx 5pm after a 10 hour drive from the Abel Tasman, When we went to get a shower at 6pm there was no hot water so we informed reception, By 7pm I phoned reception and was told they were working on it and would have hot water in 15 mins. By 7.30 there was still no hot water so I went down to reception... The estimate for the water to be back on was now 8pm so we were offered the use of another room in a different block to have a shower! We declined as at this stage we were already starving and were keen to have dinner. dinner was average, portions were extremely large however both our dishes (salmon & pasta) were bland tasting. Staff were nice but seemed limited english. We met the manager on our way back to our room at approx 8.30 and he told us there was another complication and water would be hot in another 30-45 mins! Great!!! He was true to his word but by the time we got showered we were in no mood to go out! we were disappointed that initially there was no feedback about the problem from reception, also the fact we were not moved to a new room, considering there were rooms available to use for a shower! Will not return!! We were offered a disappointing 10% discount for a meal at another scenic hotel restaurant as a sweetener!!!

Room Tip: Don't eat breakfast in the restaurant as very expensive for buffet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear JemmyBoy,

I totally understand your disappointment and do apologise for the inconvenience of not providing you with a fully functional room on the day you stayed with us.
I remember the situation and interaction with you really well, as luckily such situations are rare cases at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. As explained to you at the time, one of the main fuses on the hot water cylinder for your building overloaded, resulting in no hot water been available to a number of rooms.
A really unfortunate situation that took us a while to discover and repair..
Sadly this has overshadowed your ‘relaxing’ stay with us, that is certainly not what we have aimed or hoped for.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A Scenic Hotel! Very comfortable , clean , friendly staff , easy check in, lovely grounds, a great restaurant & staff. It is close to everything you could want. We arrived early enough to take a helicopter flight up to the Glaciers with a snow landing above Fox Glacier then fly back down covering Franz Josef Glacier, what a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Any room here would be a good room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Roy B,

What a fantastic review! I am really pleased to see that you have enjoyed our hotel at its best. Did you know that you can find Scenic hotels all around New Zealand and even in Tonga? Scenic hotels are conveniently positioned in all major tourist destinations from the Bay of Islands till Dunedin. They all offer the same comfort as you have just experienced during your stay with us in Franz Josef Glacier.

Please stay in touch and visit us again when you are next in New Zealand.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night (13 Dec) and my family really love the hotel room and compound. Check in was very smooth and we were offered an upgrade. But wasn't sure if i stayed in the Douglas or Graham Wing. Anyway I appreciate the hotel's kind gesture! During our stay in the hotel, there was also a big tour group and the restaurant near the reception was packed with them. We were ushered to the 2nd level and what lovely views the Glasshouse Restaurant had! Tiffany was very courteous and helpful and we had a great conversation with her. Unfortunately our breakfast experience wasnt that good. Guess we were too early at 6.45am and apparently the Glasshouse restaurant is not ready yet. We had to apologetically hurry her as we have a coach at 7.30am. The rooms were lovely and kudos to the people who clean and tidy our rooms daily. Definitely a great hotel to stay guys:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelPP12JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear JoelPP12JC,

Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor.com. I am really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the Glasshouse Restaurant. Tiffany will be really happy to hear that you liked the service she has extended to you and your family. She is such a great and lovely person.

Please stay in touch and visit us again when you are back in New Zealand.

Best regards and Merry Christmas.

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed as part of a tour of the South island in Nov 2013. As noted by others the selection of hotels is not massive but I was very happy with this hotel. The beds were lovely, the food the best dinner on the tour and the staff very nice.

Across the road is The Landing a great bar. We enjoyed watching the Melbourne Cup hear with a lot of very excited Aussies and some nice wine.

Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Clean cosy and after a long day traveling this is to be appreciated.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Kristina B,

Thank you for your positive review. The Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier is one of two hotels in Franz Josef Glacier and we offer our guests all the comfort they can expect from a first class hotel chain. The Scenic Hotel signature bedding you mentioned in your review is only one of many special features guests can enjoy when staying with Scenic Hotels.

Thank you for positively mentioning your dinner experience at the hotel and our great staff. Your feedback is much appreciated.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

There isn't too many choices at Franz Josef and The Scenic Hotel is probably a good choice with views of the snow capped mountains. Close to shops, tour operators and other bars and restaurants. Recommend the heli flts to the twin glaciers, incredible!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander T, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Lanoma,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.com.
I am pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier.
Please stay in touch and visit again.

Best regards,

Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews