We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glow Worm Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at Glow Worm Cottages and were greeted with a most hearty welcome. The staff is really nice and helpful!
Our ensuite 4bed dorm was amazing! We had our own little kitchen included, with a fridge, kettle and everything. It was very clean and beds were super comfortable.
The common room is big and cozy with a fireplace, a slightly seperate TV room, lots of comfy couches and chairs. The kitchen is extremely well equipped! No shortage of anything and lots of fridges with more than enough space for everybody.
Best things: Really good free unlimited wifi! Free (good) soup at six every night! Free breakfast every morning!
Also there's a free hot tub, which is nice to relax in especially at cold winter nights.
You can bring your own alcohol into the hostel, as long as you don't make excessive noise after ten, otherwise really no problem.
We enjoyed our nights at Glow Worm and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: 4bed ensuite (we were in room 7) for $25 per night is really worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KaddaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear KaddaNYC,
Thank you for such a wonderful in depth review of Glowworm Cottages, a home away from your own home while traveling is the atmosphere we are try to convey to all our guests and it is fabulous that we made a good impression and you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Glow Worm Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 306 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you are looking for cheap accommodation with very friendly staff, here you go! Our double room was clean and well kept, if a bit smallish, but that's really okay for the price. We enjoyed having sunny breakfasts in front of our room very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear 5months2014,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, It is wonderful to hear that one of your highlights was our friendly Staff and the other was our wonderful weather!!! We wish you continuing safe journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the best backpackers i've ever been! We truely enjoyed our stay at the glow wurms, not least because of the free Sushi & chocolate fountain :) Moreover they offered soup and Popcorn daily. And that's not all, one Day we got a free ride to a beautiful mirrow lake! The Crew just tries to make everybody happy and it works ;) Thank you guys!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank HeleneUnterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Helene,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. There is an awesome team at Sir Cedrics Back packers, and Glowworm cottages, It is always a pleasure to see they have made a good impression. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the wonderful extras we provide for our guests. We wish you continuing safe journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

It is impressed after I check-in to the hostel. I was been told I do have free wifi ( though it is slow), free breakfast, free soup ( during dinner time with lots of MSG), and free pop corn! Overall, the hostel average, it is not shuttered between the kitchen, TV and dining room to the rooms. It is cheap if you are BBH member (3dollars).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMETGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear RMETGK,
Thank you for taking the time to review us at Glowworm cottages, We do offer a lot of complementary services to our guests to hopefully ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
While we are one of the most remote areas of New Zealand and this does the internet we can provide, we are working on upgrading this in the very near future. The soup is made fresh each day with only the stock being premade, and is a MSG free product. We are sorry that you found your stay to only be average but we have taken on board your comments and will continue to make improvements where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Jo and Benjamin and all the crew, you are doing a really good job! You are always really friendly, helpful and entertaining.
This hostel is a really cosy place and spa pool, free breakfast, soup and wifi- what else could a backpacker want? Breakfast and soup are always good meeting points where you can get to know loads of nice people!
Stay like that, I really enjoyed my stay with you! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was our pleasure to host you.
A warm friendly, fun atmosphere is our goal to provide for all of our guests. Now we've added free phone calls from our homeland to yours, and other further small improvements on top of the great hospitality that we will continue to keep. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great hostel in a great little town. All the access to local adventures. Easy walk to Franz Josef. Free wifi, free soup, free breakfast, and free hot tub. Need I say more? Oh, and a free shuttle to Fox and some other local attractions a couple times per week with my main man Ben!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennyPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
Our aim is to show our guests the amazing place that is our home and the many attractions that are available to all that visit here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed the one night in an ensuite double. The room was warm, and the hanging tools were an interesting touch! The bed was a bit hard for me. Ensuite was very small, but functional. The common area was well appointed and free internet is always a bonus, as is the free soup for dinner and free popcorn! Didn't try out the hot spa. The location was great, however nothing is far away!! Awesome for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamb_shanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are continuing to add to the services and freebies we offer to increase the value we offer to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Franz Josef
YHA Franz Josef
#5 of 12 in Franz Josef
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glow Worm Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glow Worm Accommodation

Address: 27 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand (Formerly Sir Cedrics Glow Worm Flashpacker Hostel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $33 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glow Worm Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Glow Worm Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glow Worm Cottages Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing