We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Crew & Accomendation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glow Worm Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful Crew & Accomendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the best backpackers i've ever been! We truely enjoyed our stay at the glow wurms, not least because of the free Sushi & chocolate fountain :) Moreover they offered soup and Popcorn daily. And that's not all, one Day we got a free ride to a beautiful mirrow lake! The Crew just tries to make everybody happy and it works ;) Thank you guys!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HeleneUnterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Helene,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. There is an awesome team at Sir Cedrics Back packers, and Glowworm cottages, It is always a pleasure to see they have made a good impression. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the wonderful extras we provide for our guests. We wish you continuing safe journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    94
    50
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
109
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

It is impressed after I check-in to the hostel. I was been told I do have free wifi ( though it is slow), free breakfast, free soup ( during dinner time with lots of MSG), and free pop corn! Overall, the hostel average, it is not shuttered between the kitchen, TV and dining room to the rooms. It is cheap if you are BBH member (3dollars).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMETGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear RMETGK,
Thank you for taking the time to review us at Glowworm cottages, We do offer a lot of complementary services to our guests to hopefully ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
While we are one of the most remote areas of New Zealand and this does the internet we can provide, we are working on upgrading this in the very near future. The soup is made fresh each day with only the stock being premade, and is a MSG free product. We are sorry that you found your stay to only be average but we have taken on board your comments and will continue to make improvements where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Jo and Benjamin and all the crew, you are doing a really good job! You are always really friendly, helpful and entertaining.
This hostel is a really cosy place and spa pool, free breakfast, soup and wifi- what else could a backpacker want? Breakfast and soup are always good meeting points where you can get to know loads of nice people!
Stay like that, I really enjoyed my stay with you! :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was our pleasure to host you.
A warm friendly, fun atmosphere is our goal to provide for all of our guests. Now we've added free phone calls from our homeland to yours, and other further small improvements on top of the great hospitality that we will continue to keep. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great hostel in a great little town. All the access to local adventures. Easy walk to Franz Josef. Free wifi, free soup, free breakfast, and free hot tub. Need I say more? Oh, and a free shuttle to Fox and some other local attractions a couple times per week with my main man Ben!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
Our aim is to show our guests the amazing place that is our home and the many attractions that are available to all that visit here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed the one night in an ensuite double. The room was warm, and the hanging tools were an interesting touch! The bed was a bit hard for me. Ensuite was very small, but functional. The common area was well appointed and free internet is always a bonus, as is the free soup for dinner and free popcorn! Didn't try out the hot spa. The location was great, however nothing is far away!! Awesome for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamb_shanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are continuing to add to the services and freebies we offer to increase the value we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at another hostel before coming to this hostel in Franz Josef, and this one was loads better! The staff is so awesome - Jo greeted me and two friends and made us feel at home upon arrival and Ben showed everyone at the hostel a good time with sushi night and going to the local bar. Honestly such down to earth and likeable people!!! I would give Jo, Harley, and especially Ben extra points for their amazing hospitality!!! The hostel itself is very homey which I loved, and is amazing value for $24/night with free wifi, soup, popcorn, and even sushi night for the day I came. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Connie,
Thank you for your lovely review.
It was our pleasure to host you and your friends. We are glad that your friends convinced you to join us and we hope that your trip to Queenstown was enjoyable.
Safe journeys for the rest of your trip in New Zealand.

From Jo and the Team at Glowworm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This place is ok if you're just after something cheap but it is a bit run down and not very clean. Also, the hot tub was drained and not in use. The free popcorn looked as though the machine hadn't been cleaned in years. I found hair in the sheets too (which were almost see through from being so old).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trixdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make comment on us.
Glowworm Cottages are in the process of renewal and deep clean. We have ordered all new linen and the hot tub has been replaced with a brand new one.
We are excited about the changes including new management and hope that you can come back in the future to see the change.

Jo R
Manager
Glowworm Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 12 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glow Worm Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glow Worm Accommodation

Property: Glow Worm Accommodation
Address: 27 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand (Formerly Sir Cedrics Glow Worm Flashpacker Hostel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glow Worm Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glow Worm Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glow Worm Cottages Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing