We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glow Worm Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed the one night in an ensuite double. The room was warm, and the hanging tools were an interesting touch! The bed was a bit hard for me. Ensuite was very small, but functional. The common area was well appointed and free internet is always a bonus, as is the free soup for dinner and free popcorn! Didn't try out the hot spa. The location was great, however nothing is far away!! Awesome for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamb_shanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are continuing to add to the services and freebies we offer to increase the value we offer to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 322 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at another hostel before coming to this hostel in Franz Josef, and this one was loads better! The staff is so awesome - Jo greeted me and two friends and made us feel at home upon arrival and Ben showed everyone at the hostel a good time with sushi night and going to the local bar. Honestly such down to earth and likeable people!!! I would give Jo, Harley, and especially Ben extra points for their amazing hospitality!!! The hostel itself is very homey which I loved, and is amazing value for $24/night with free wifi, soup, popcorn, and even sushi night for the day I came. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Connie,
Thank you for your lovely review.
It was our pleasure to host you and your friends. We are glad that your friends convinced you to join us and we hope that your trip to Queenstown was enjoyable.
Safe journeys for the rest of your trip in New Zealand.

From Jo and the Team at Glowworm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This place is ok if you're just after something cheap but it is a bit run down and not very clean. Also, the hot tub was drained and not in use. The free popcorn looked as though the machine hadn't been cleaned in years. I found hair in the sheets too (which were almost see through from being so old).

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank trixdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to make comment on us.
Glowworm Cottages are in the process of renewal and deep clean. We have ordered all new linen and the hot tub has been replaced with a brand new one.
We are excited about the changes including new management and hope that you can come back in the future to see the change.

Jo R
Manager
Glowworm Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Free popcorn, home made soup, wifi, movies and hot tub. This hostel was beautiful - it felt like a cottage. The facilities were clean and fully functional and the set up was great. It didn't really feel like a hostel as the staff were very friendly and accommodating - it almost felt like you were staying with family. Id definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking to relax and meet some great people. Also it was the cheapest of all the hostels I stayed at in New Zealand and my favorite one!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 129R0se_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R, Manager at Glow Worm Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review.
The feeling of coming to a home away from home is exactly what we are trying to achieve! We are expanding this idea to include a Free simple breakfast of Cereal, Toast and hot beverages which will be offered to all our guests. We hope that you have safe journeys.

Jo R
Manager
Glowworm Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hostel is perfectly okay for a couple of nights to see the glaciers. Free WiFi is nice and the double rooms are acceptable. Only one toilet and two showers in a block with two doubles and a dorm (first hostel where I've had to wait in line) that are reasonable. The kitchen is quite grimy and the lack of pots and pans is pretty appealing! We had to wait for a saucepan for 20 mins as they were all in use - all being 4. The location is good but all other motels, hotels and hostels are on the same street so we would probably look elsewhere if we were to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britsticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Fantastic stay at the Glow Worm Cottages. Staff really friendly and helpful on where to eat and activities. The free popcorn, soup and wifi are a massive bonus! The rooms and bathrooms where clean! There are glow worms up the road as well, well worth the short walk!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calcarie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a room with a double and single. Self contained, ensuite. Clean, quiet, lovely surroundings of course. And superb service at the desk. Didn't check out the facilities as only there one night. The hot tub looked extremely dodgy, the water was hmmm ick.. with floating foam on top when it wasn't in use. Would definitey recommend staying here!

Room Tip: i would suspect any room is good. Didn't see dorm set up if there was one though to comment ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwimatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,293 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Franz Josef
YHA Franz Josef
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glow Worm Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glow Worm Accommodation

Address: 27 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand (Formerly Sir Cedrics Glow Worm Flashpacker Hostel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Franz Josef
Price Range: $25 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glow Worm Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Glow Worm Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glow Worm Cottages Hotel Franz Josef

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing